Nell’s Opinion & Book Hunt

Ya’ll know that opinions are subjective, right?  I don’t have any great epiphanies for anyone, just for Nell 100myself. I learned this week that our Christmas themed romance reviews could be offensive to those who do not celebrate Christmas.  I never thought about that.  I say Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays – whatever comes to my mind.  I was not raised in a overtly Christian home.  Christmas doesn’t mean the same to me as it does for some others-even others within my own family.  I was only just a kid while my siblings were much older, married with kids of their own.  What Christmas means to me is that my brothers and sisters and their family came to visit.  I had kids my own age to play with and have fun.  For me it was more about interacting with others than about the original reason for the season.  In reality, my absentee parents used the holiday to blackmail their older children into visiting.  Yeah…well…..what does a kid do?

Anyway, the point of this little article is this:  If I knew folks that celebrated Kwanzaa or Hanukkah, I’d be over at their house learning what it means to them.  I read books to learn.  If there was a Kwanzaa or Hanukkah related romance, I’d read it just to learn about what it means to other people. I really don’t understand the fuss and offense folks make over the proper holiday greeting.  If someone greeted me with a “Happy Hanukkah”, I’d most likely tell them thanks and drag them into a conference room to get to know them better.  I’d probably get arrested, but you’ll have that.

The take away from this little convo is this:  I am not offended by any greeting other than a truly derogitive one and then I consider the source. Teach me, people, what do the holidays mean to you?

 

Book hunt time:

511VtDCcqML._SX362_BO1,204,203,200_ 16077754Title: Angel Unborn (Deadly Sins)
by Andris Bear

Description: Hell has literally come to Earth for one mortal and what’s worse, she is expected to leave behind all hope for a family of her own to stand in defense of humanity against the darkest forces of Hell. But when Satan offers her the normal life she covets, Joey must decide if the price of mankind’s salvation is worth her own damnation.
Strong-willed Joey Benton is the half-mortal child of an angel with heavenly powers. She has no knowledge of her heritage or the power running through her veins until she meets a handsome stranger who forces her to question her life and the world around her. And she quickly becomes a key player in a battle that will define a victory for Heaven or Hell.
Ursus, a sexy Archangel, doesn’t want the responsibility of another charge, especially when Joey is so defiant. Protecting her from Hell might very well be the biggest challenge of his immortal life. But when his feelings for Joey get in the way of his duty, it’s a challenge he refuses to lose.

Free on Kindle

 

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on December 20, 2015, in Book Hunt. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I so agree! If you’re wishing me a happy anything, I’ll take it, and back at ya. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

