My Kind of Wonderful by Jill Shalvis

I eagerly anticipate  Jill Shalvis book release days.  I can’t wait to meet her new characters and see what kinds of trouble they can get themselves into.

25317360Title: My Kind of Wonderful
Author: Jill Shalvis
Series:
Cedar Ridge, Book 2
Publish Date: December 22, 2015
Genre:
Romance
Source:
NetGalley

Publisher’s Description: Bailey Moore has an agenda: skiing in the Rockies, exploring castles in Europe, ballroom dancing in Argentina. Now that she has a second lease on life, she’s determined not to miss a thing. What she doesn’t realize is that item #1 comes with a six-foot-one ski god hot enough to melt a polar ice cap. She doesn’t want to miss out on him either, but Hudson Kincaid isn’t the type of guy to love and let go. And as gorgeous as Cedar Ridge is, she’s not planning to stick around.

As head of ski patrol at his family’s resort, Hud thinks he’s seen it all. But never has he run into someone like Bailey. She might look delicate, but her attitude is all firecracker. And her infectious joy touches something deep within him that he’s been missing far too long. Now he’ll just have to convince Bailey to take a chance on her biggest adventure yet . . . something rare and all kinds of wonderful.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Ruby LRuby_Lee 100ee says…

Jill’s characters are special because they aren’t “cookie cutter” people.  That is one of the arguments that anti-romance book people use frequently when they try to make the point that romance literature is not up  to the standard of the other genres.   I have actually had first hand experience with this at a book club Christmas party a few weeks ago.  Everyone was name dropping these “exclusive” book titles that they were reading.  When I told them I was looking forward to the new releases by Jill Shalvis and Kristan Higgins, they just stared at me and passed over my comment.  They act as if reading is suppose to be a kind of torture that they need to endure to be well-read.  I think it is sad that these people are missing out on tremendous stories that whisk the reader away to another time or place.  They allow us to become other people, if only for a moment.  It is my strong belief that reality 100% of the time is not good for anyone and “these kind of books” make life a happier, sunnier place.

Enough about me and on to this incredible book.  This book is character driven, and they are amazing characters at that.  They have a depth that few authors can achieve and they face things that aren’t “fixed” at the end of the book.  You know these people will continue to face their demons long after the book is over, but they will be able to do it together.  Plus they will continue to have mind-blowing lovemaking sessions that are constructed creatively and, at times, with lots of humor in this book.  The romance would definitely be rated an R+.

However, there is one part of this book that took it from a strong 4 rating to a 5 rating for me.  There is a scene in the book when Bailey and Lily get overwhelmingly drunk while waiting for Hudson and Aidan to return frombadge5v4 a rescue call.  When Hudson arrives to take her back to his place for the night, he refuses to make love to her because she is intoxicated.  He knows that a woman cannot give consent to sex when she is intoxicated.  Hudson and Aidan even have a discussion about how she is off-limits that night.

Jill Shalvis, you are an amazing woman to include this in your book.

In other books that I have read, the mental state of the woman is never addressed and it is considered sexy if a man loses control and “takes” her.  But it is not sexy and it is not legal.  In my other life, when I am not Ruby Lee, part of my job is to educate people about consent for sex.  We teach them that if a person is intoxicated or under the influence of anything, they can’t give consent.  It is a difficult message for some to get when our culture has condoned it for so long.  Another part of my job is to work with those that have been assaulted when they were intoxicated.  It is heartbreaking and something that can never be truly repaired.

So in closing, READ THIS BOOK.  It is sweet and funny with great characters that you will love until the end and after.

I am counting the hours until the next Jill Shalvis release day.


Izzy’s Corner

 ? paws – I can’t rate this book because mom spent most of it covering my eyes.  I know there is skiing, painting and a man that acted IMG_0640 (100x80)stupidly.  I don’t know about the last one for sure but every book I have read with mom so far has a man who has done dumb things.  Boy I a glad to be a female cat.

 


Other reviews…

If you like this book…

You are a person of great taste.  You should also try the Hope Series by Jaci Burton or the FBI/US Attorney Series by Julie James.

About Ruby Lee

I have always loved reading because it is my escape, and I will read almost anything. Lately, I have been getting into nonfiction, which surprised the heck out of me. I am also into many types of romance, horror, and sci-fi with an occasional mystery or two. I promise that I will keep you on your toes because my reading preferences are all over the map. I feel I’m a tough reviewer. I rarely give five stars on any story because a five-star would have to be a book combination of The Stand meets Charlotte’s Web which in turn marries Dante’s Inferno and has an affair with Where the Sidewalk Ends. I think that if a story travels with you for the rest of your life, it should have a special distinction to set it apart. Follow me on twitter @rubylee5151 or send me an email at RubyLee5151@gmail.com.

Posted on December 22, 2015, in 5-Great, Review, Romance, Ruby Lee and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

