The Dirt on Ninth Grave by Darynda Jones

Darynda Jones’s newest Charley Davidson novel is pretty popular here at One Book Two. Four of us “claimed” the book, including The Phantom!

dirt_on_the_ninth_grave_coverTitle:  The Dirt on Ninth Grave
Author:  Darynda Jones
Series: Charley Davidson Book 09
Publish Date:  January 12, 2016
Genre:  Urban Fantasy
Source: NetGalley

Publisher’s DescriptionIn a small village in New York lives Jane Doe, a girl with no memory of who she is or where she came from. So when she is working at a diner and slowly begins to realize she can see dead people, she’s more than a little taken aback. Stranger still are the people entering her life. They seem to know things about her. Things they hide with lies and half-truths. Soon, she senses something far darker. A force that wants to cause her harm, she is sure of it. Her saving grace comes in the form of a new friend she feels she can confide in and the fry cook, a devastatingly handsome man whose smile is breathtaking and touch is scalding. He stays close, and she almost feels safe with him around.

But no one can outrun their past, and the more lies that swirl around her—even from her new and trusted friends—the more disoriented she becomes, until she is confronted by a man who claims to have been sent to kill her. Sent by the darkest force in the universe. A force that absolutely will not stop until she is dead. Thankfully, she has a Rottweiler. But that doesn’t help in her quest to find her identity and recover what she’s lost. That will take all her courage and a touch of the power she feels flowing like electricity through her veins. She almost feels sorry for him. The devil in blue jeans. The disarming fry cook who lies with every breath he takes. She will get to the bottom of what he knows if it kills her. Or him. Either way.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Nervous_Nellie_100Nervous Nellie says…

“I’ve loved you for a thousand years.”~ Charley Davidson

Je t’ai aim’ee pendant mille et un.” (I’ve loved you for a thousand and one)~Reyes

Talk about romantic. *sigh* Charley may not remember anything about herself, but her core values remain unchanged. For me, the best part of the book was to watch Charley fall in love with Reyes all over again. Proves to me that it’s meant to be no matter what obstacle stands between them. He worries for her and takes care of her as best he can without her knowing. He’s temporarily (he hopes) lost the love of his immortal life, but he spends every day with her just to protect her. Reyes makes me swoon.

Everyone has a part in the book, but it’s mostly about Charley figuring out who and what she is while trying to save the lives of a family she has gotten very attached to. Charley is drawn to Cookie as a BFF all over again. Charley automatically loves Ubie, but doesn’t know why. It’s amazing to find friends and family willing to drop everything to help Charley and keep her safe.

badge5v4The ending isn’t exactly a cliffhanger, but it does lead into book #10. There is a lot of information at the conclusion of the book that needs to be taken note. More players are revealed and angles played become more obvious. Again, Reyes makes promises to do things in order to keep Charley by his side, but even though the terms appear to be non negotiable, the Powers That BE may be getting less fulfillment of the contract than they bargain for…

Invested_Ivana_100Invested Ivana says…

I’ll admit I was kinda concerned at the end of the last book how Ninth Grave was going to go. Charley learned everything there is to know about herself, and then forgot everything! Were we going to start her story over? How would that work?

badge5v4But, Darynda has more imagination than I do, that’s for sure! Ninth Grave turned out to be a lot of fun. It was very interesting to see Charley surrounded by all of her friends, but not recognize them. It was interesting to see how she naturally started to solve cases, too, just because she’s a good person. I’m eager for my second “read-through” when the audio comes out; Lorelei King’s performance as Charley just can’t be beat.

I don’t want to say much more, so as not to spoil anything. Book 10 is going to be a doozy, if the end of nine is any indication. I can’t wait!

Ruby_Lee_100Ruby Lee says…

“I want to savor this wonder, this happening of loving a book and reading it for the first time, because the first time is always the best, and I will never read this book for the first time ever again.”
― Laura Nowlin, If He Had Been with Me

In the early days of 2011, Nell shoved First Grave on the Right in my face and told me that I HAD to read this book. In normal Ruby fashion, I ignored her because we never like the same books. Then in April 2015, I had First Grave on my iPod as I was driving to some far off destination. I fell in book love immediately. It was fast paced, funny, romantic, and supernatural all rolled into one addictive series. So I started reading the series in my spare time, which is hard because I read many books for One Book Two.

So last week, I had 2 books left in the series and then I could read Ninth Grave. I was planning to binge read the last three books, but then my New Year’s resolution kicked in. I had promised myself that I would slow down and savor life a little more. This amazing series that Darynda Jones has created is too good to binge read. I have the right to enjoy each story in my own time, which is exactly what I plan to do.

I know that Ivana may kill me in my sleep but I have no review for Ninth Grave. I am 99.9% sure it will be spectacular and I plan to come back and tell you what I think after I have read it. Besides a little extra publicity never hurt any book. If you haven’t started this series, do it. Nell was right on this one but don’t tell her I said that.

OFFICIAL REVIEW from Ruby Lee:

A few months ago when Ninth Grave by Darynda Jones was released, I wasn’t ready to give a review because I didn’t want to rush through Seventh Grave and No Body and Eighth Grave After Dark. You see, I was a little late coming to the Charley Davidson party, so I was behind in the series with the Ninth Grave deadline looming over my head.

I believe books are about fun, relaxation, and pretending that you are living a life that would easily kill the real you. I didn’t want to rush through this wonderful series just to get to the end. It seemed counterproductive to me and I am sure that most authors would agree that they want people to savor their books and, boy, did I ever savor those three books.

My first thought when reading Dirt on Ninth Grave was that Darynda Jones is a very brave author. She could have easily stayed with what had worked, which was Charley working on cases, almost getting killed, dealing with ghosts, and raising everyone’s temperature with some steamy scenes with one Reyes Farrow. It was definitely a formula that worked but that was not the story that she wanted to tell so she shook things up a little bit the same way that a 9.2 earthquake shakes things up.

In Ninth Grave, the readers were taken to a new world. We sort of knew the characters but we were as confused as Charley. So instead of seeing the demon-kicking Charley that had it all figured out, we got a new Charley that knew nothing about her past or her identity. I feel that this was an excellent move by Jones because we as readers were finally able to understand parts of the character that were only revealed when she was vulnerable. We also got a better understand of those around her. We saw her friends and what she meant to each of them.

Overall, I feel that Dirt of 9th Grave was a brilliant transition book as we move into the next stage of this battle. Jones needed to introduce a lot of new material and she did it spectacularly. There are two specific parts I would like to mention. The first is the character that sacrificed himself to save Charley. That brought tears to my eyes. The second is that I thought the use of the word asshat to describe the angels was a wonderful nod to the TV drama Supernatural. That made me smile.

So if you haven’t begun this series, you need to start. The Curse of Tenth Grave is released June 28, 2016 and you will want to savor this series. It is way too good to rush through.

The_Phantom_100The Phantom says…

Fans will not be disappointed with The Dirt on Ninth Grave. Don’t give up if it seems that the action is slow coming. With Charley’s memory loss, the build up takes a little longer than previous books. It is worth the build! All of the action and romance you have come to expect from Charley is there. Mysteries to solve, questions to answer, relationships to rebuild, it all left me wanting to keep reading. After a couple of chapters it was really hard to put down.

badge5v4The only downside to not putting the book down is that the wait for the next book will probably seem that much longer. The ending will leave you marking your calendar for the next release date.

Other reviews…

If you like this book…

…you might try the Ciel Halligan series by Linda Grimes, the Alex Craft series by Kalayna Price, or the Madison Fox, Illuminant Enforcer series by Rebecca Chastain.

About Invested Ivana

I'm currently a freelance line editor, a book blogger at One Book Two, and lifetime reader. I like geeky things. All opinions expressed on this site are my own and do not reflect the opinions of Red Adept Editing or any of my clients, the other reviewers on this site, or this site as a whole.

Posted on January 12, 2016, in 5-Great, Invested Ivana, Nervous Nellie, Paranormal Mystery, Paranormal Romance, Review, Ruby Lee, The Phantom, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Thanks for linking to me 🙂 and great reviews, guys! Even the one by Ruby Lee, which isn’t a review, because she didn’t read it yet. Read it, now! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It only took me 4 hours to devour this kick ass awesome book! I believe I’ll love Charley and Reyes for 1,002 years! Can’t wait for #10!!!! Thank you Darynda for your genius and goddess grown brain!

    Like

  1. Pingback: Darynda Jones - NY Times Bestselling Author » Kicking off NINTH GRAVE blog tour!!!

  2. Pingback: The Curse of Tenth Grave by Darynda Jones | One Book Two

  3. Pingback: Nell’s Gossip and Sunday Book Hunt 1/8/17 | One Book Two

  4. Pingback: Nell’s Gossip and Sunday Book Hunt 1/22/2017 | One Book Two

  5. Pingback: Eleventh Grave in Moonlight by Darynda Jones | One Book Two

Leave a Reply

