Nell’s Opinion & Book Hunt

Nell 100

Okay, this may seem stupid to some of you, but is there anyone out there besides me that appreciates when a hero or heroine displays every day behavior? Yes, this is coming from the same chick that gets cranky when a 500 year old vampire hooks up with a 23 year old woman and expects to keep him interested for eternity.

My point is this:  I appreciate when an author includes the fact that the hero or heroine’s apartment is an absolute mess, or they dig clothes out of the hamper because they haven’t had time to do laundry. It makes the character more relatable.

I had an argument (no, really, me….hard to believe, right?) with an author not so long ago about a love triangle and which woman is getting shafted……I mean…..um….the short end of the stick.  Um….I mean…oh, YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN!!  Geez, get your head out of the gutter!  Anyway, my argument was that while the hero and one of the heroines in the book were getting it on, is the other heroine expected to do the laundry and clean?  The hero ain’t doing any cleaning, cooking or laundry.  I’m all about being fair and shouldn’t all parties get treated fairly?  Shouldn’t the hero be expected to carry his weight?

Oh, I can hear you, out there, don’t think I can’t.  I can hear eyes rolling and the long suffering sighs.  I like a certain amount of realism in my books.  Not everybody gets maids (I certainly don’t.)  Not everybody gets to eat out every single meal (firstly, a hero or heroine probably doesn’t have the funds and secondly, it’s really not good for their health.)

Okay! Okay! I know! I told you that this may seem dumb. My SIL is always pulling me aside because my soapbox raves are not what books are about.  She tells me there has to be a certain amount of suspension of belief.  She speaks slowly and explains that’s what FAN-TAS-Y IS ABOUT! But she leaves off the “stupid” part just to be kind.

I can’t help it.  Thanks for listening – back to your regularly scheduled program…

Book Hunt 2-fer

27698572 Title: Hunted
Author: Alison Golden
Series: Diana Hunter Book 01
Kindle: $2.99

DescriptionDid Lydia commit suicide, and leave her husband and daughter by choice – or is something more sinister afoot?

Meet Lydia, John, and Diana Hunter. Lydia is a loving mother and wife, who wants nothing more than the best for her family. John is her husband. He is an over-protective homicide detective who loves his wife and teenage daughter with everything he has. Their daughter, Diana, is a genius, with an IQ level far higher than most. This is a family that adores one another. A family, however, that is torn apart by tragedy.

When Lydia is found dead at her workplace, John loses the love of his life. His heart breaks for himself and his little girl as Diana spirals out of control. The authorities rule the death a suicide, but when events don’t start to add up, the family that is left behind begins to suspect something isn’t right.

***

28534228Title:  Snatched (Diana Hunter series, Book 2)
Author: Alison Golden
Series: Diana Hunter Book 02
Kindle: Free

Description: What would you do if you discovered a dead body? Would you investigate? Try to solve the case before the police arrive? Would you prattle on about theories regarding the murder, realizing you know almost too much about it? Would you put the handsome detective off balance so that he then accuses you of being the murderer? All before 9AM? No… surely no one would do that?

Clearly, you haven’t met Diana Hunter.

When embarking on an early morning run, Diana notices a man sitting on the ground reading a book. When she returns, she finds he hasn’t moved a muscle since she left her house. She checks him over and discovers that he is stone cold. Once the emergency services arrive, all equipped with a very good-looking, but pompous detective, Peter Hopkinson, she has to continually prove to the detective why she is not the killer while trying to solve the murder herself.

Will Diana find the murderer before the detective does, or will they both discover that something a lot more sinister is going on at Royal Bay Beach?

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on January 24, 2016, in Book Hunt. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

