News By Jen – Interview with Jim Dale, Book Sales, and More

Invested_Ivana_100Hi there!

I’m not taking over for Nell this week; I just had a couple exciting news items(well, exciting to me) that I wanted to let you all know about.

Interview with Jim Dale

Audible has posted a great interview with narrator Jim Dale.  Dale narrated the American versions of Harry Potter in audio.  His narration is what got me started listening to audiobooks, actually.  Listening to his narration of The Night Circus put that story firmly in the same world as Harry Potter in my head (though it really isn’t), just because I associate his voice so closely with Harry Potter.  I was also a big fan of the TV show Pushing Daisies, on which he served as the narrator.  I’ve purchased copies of his narration of Peter Pan, Alice in Wonderland, Winnie the Pooh, and The Christmas Carol, though I haven’t listened to them all yet.  I already had one performance of Alice in Wonderland, and TWO performances of The Christmas Carol (Patrick Stewart and Tim Curry), but I just couldn’t pass up the opportunity to hear Jim Dale again.

Books On Sale

Several Book Ones in series I love are on sale in Kindle format right now for $1.99.  I always get excited when I see these sales since it means some folks who have never read the series before might pick it up.  These have been on sale for a while, so I don’t know how long the sale will last, so if you haven’t read them before, snatch them up fast!

  • Written in Red, The Others series Book 01, by Anne Bishop
  • Moon Called, Mercy Thompson series Book 01 by Patricia Briggs
  • Skinwalker, Jane Yellowrock series Book 01, by Faith Hunter

Jack Whyte’s The Eagle finally in Kindle

I don’t review many historical fiction books on this site, but I do love the genre.  One of my favorite series, The Camulod Chronicles by Jack Whyte, has been available in Kindle format for a while… all except the FINAL BOOK!  Do I need to tell you how frustrating that is for a Type A reader? Well, FINALLY, The Eagle is coming to Kindle, and I couldn’t be happier.

About Invested Ivana

I read fiction for entertainment and to escape my own world; so, I don’t want to read about “real” things. I read non-fiction to learn and be inspired. For the last several years, I’ve read mostly Urban Fantasy and other things supernatural. I also enjoy Historical Fiction. I love books that go deep into characters and worlds. I really want to know the characters, to be able to invest emotionally in them and their challenges. I like learning about cultures, so understanding the world is important to me as well.

Posted on January 31, 2016, in Book Chat. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

