Nell’s Opinion & Book Hunt

Nervous_Nellie_100

This world is the greatest, you know?  I loved the interview yesterday.  Cover art is one of my favorite things – some book covers are ok, but some are so outstanding that I just want to frame them and look at them forever.  There are authors that create works of art that aren’t for everyone.  There is cover art out there that isn’t for everyone, but isn’t it awesome we get to choose?

I had a conversation this week with an author that I considered pretty rough.  He wanted me to review his book.  It’s the first book in this author’s series and he’s gifted it to us all on Amazon.  I picked it up and spent most of a day reading it.  There were problems with his punctuation and sentence structure.  The story was pretty good but I struggled over whether I should tell him how I felt about the rest of the book.

As a reviewer, I feel I have to stay true to myself, so I emailed him.  I tried to break the news to him as gently as I could.  I found out in short order that this gentleman is over 70 years old and lives on a pension.  He can’t afford an editor and he just wants to tell the story.

You could guess that I felt rotten, but the story he wrote has potential and just because I was distracted by what I deemed as mistakes, doesn’t mean they really were mistakes.  I explained to him that my thoughts are really nothing in the grand scheme of things.  He seemed to respond to that and before I knew it, we had reached an accord and solution.

This is what makes the world so great.  We help each other.  With the awesome source that is the interwebs, we can either be faceless trolls or we can choose to hold out a hand and help someone out.  Promote something we think is great.  Talk about things that we are passionate about.  Don’t think your kindness or opinions don’t matter.  Sometimes it takes just one to make a difference.

 

Now on to the Book Hunt:

28939672Title: Witches and Ghosts Urban Fantasy Multi-Series Bundle #1
by T Paulin
.99 on Kindle
DescriptionLove urban fantasy adventure with plenty of magic and humor? Discover three fantastically funny series featuring witty characters you’ll love!

This Urban Fantasy anthology contains 3 books from different urban fantasy series. You may read them in any order. Enjoy!

Wisteria Witches – Z. Riddle
Zara Riddle moves to the town of Wisteria for a dream job as a librarian. She hasn’t even unpacked her moving boxes when she and her teen daughter, Zoey, are swept up in a murder mystery. With all the ghosts and supernatural creatures around (including a real hunk of a wolf shifter! meow!) it’s a good thing the Riddle women are tougher than they look. Now, if only they could handle their new witch powers as well as they’ve mastered their sarcastic wit!
GENRE: Paranormal Romance / Witch Mystery
HEAT LEVEL: Mild. No sex scenes. No swearing.
LENGTH: Complete novel.

Love Singer – Mimi Strong
A young woman heads off to music school only to discover her talents include more than just singing.
GENRE: Paranormal romantic comedy
RATING: PG-13 – some mature themes, humorous sex references
LENGTH: Novella of 50 pages

About Last Night – Ghost Hackers Book 1 – T. Paulin
A delivery driver is hired to help a ghost hunter solve the mystery behind a haunted farmhouse. He discovers secrets about himself as well as a new career.
GENRE: Paranormal mystery comedy adventure
RATING: PG-13 – some dark themes, quirky dark humor
LENGTH: 225 pages (less)

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on February 7, 2016, in Book Hunt. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. This is a huge topic to breech Nell! This is one thing that really gets under my skin, not only as a new author, it also gets under my skin as a book reviewer also. At what line are we helping these authors to grow or are we hindering these authors? I love great stories, if their punctuation and grammar stinks I will try and push through it just to finish the story. I agree that the cover art is extremely important! What is it going to take to get you to pick up my book? Sometimes the view inside the authors mind just doesn’t fit the story or the cover art. It happens and as readers we’re left wanting. What I see the most though is people not picking up genera that truly interests them. If you are into horror and you’re reading a child’s bedtime story… hold your comments to yourself, especially if it is your first time reading one like that. Please remember that this is also just my opinion and that I dig your approach to this author that wanted to tell his story. What a way to find out the back story of the author! Thank you for the awesome articles. I look forward to reading more from One book Two.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Nervous Nell Justice

      Sara~can you explain more, please? I’d like to understand more from where you are coming from. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Absolutely, if you’re like me and you look into books, authors like I do, you don’t see just the positive comments. You see regular people rip the author down for a story that come from their mind. What readers forget is that when we buy a book, sure we’re going through and imagining what the author wrote, but we’re taking a step into their mind and their story. We’re on the back seat. When we give our opinion I’m not saying that we need to be kind all of the time, but there is a tactful approach to telling someone that they need to polish their work.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Nervous Nell Justice

        I think kindness gets a person a long way. If someone asks me for my opinion and there is something that bugs me, I will tell them, but hopefully in a way that doesn’t hurt. If I were to randomly pick up a book, I don’t think I’d email that person with my issues because they didn’t ask, right?

        Liked by 2 people

      • Without a doubt! When I am scrolling through Amazon or Barnes & Noble if I find an author that has a catch cover, the back of the book has a great catch to it, but there is a lot of negative publicity to it, I will buy it and read it. After that I leave positive comments to offset the negative. The author needs to know that sure not everyone is going to like your book, I loved it though. That was part of the reason I set up Highlighting the Mind, so people could go somewhere to find good books that aren’t mainstream. Reading is my first nature, talking to people is not. That’s why I was so excited to find your guy’s site… more books I haven’t heard of that look amazing with decent comments about them…I’m for it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Nervous Nell Justice

        Cool! Thanks! I appreciate hearing from you. There are so many aspects to this reviewing business that I don’t know, so when I find someone willing to share, I get very excited.

        Liked by 2 people

      • We book nerds tend to hang out in the shadows, so when the brave muster the courage to write a true book review life gets interesting for us!

        Liked by 2 people

  2. I agree, these are some difficult waters to navigate. Being a lifelong reader of mostly publishing house work (cause that’s all there was for so long), I have internalized a certain standard for published work.

    But since self-publishing has become more accessible in recent years, is that standard still relevant? Should we comment on it? Is it just part of being “an old fogey” that grammar, punctuation, and unpolished writing *do* distract from the story for me? Since we now do most of our communicating with fairly lax standards in email, text, and online, will lax standards not bother readers of later generations?

    It also makes me wonder about the author’s purpose for publishing. If the goal is to realize a dream of telling a story, maybe the standard should be loose? But if the goal is to compete with the HUGE amount of work available in the market and actually make some money, should the standard be tighter?

    Honestly, I just don’t know. Since we started reviewing, I’ve run across a few books with really great stories that could have been really FANTASTIC stories with just a bit more editing work. I’m not talking about the random punctuation or spelling error; I’m talking more about the skill of the writer, the polish of the writing craft.

    I’m no writer myself, and in working with some writers, I see how hard (and expensive!) it is to get really good editing and proofing services. And I’m certainly not an elitist who wants publishing to be just for those with money or just the big publishing houses. I like that publishing is more accessible to everyone. And yet, making it available to everyone does change the standards.

    I don’t have any answers. I think the best I can do is be honest and kind with my feedback, as Nell has said, and hope that it is enough.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

