Nell’s Opinion & Book Hunt

Nervous_Nellie_100Have you ever considered that when the brain reads something, an adventure or romance, it can’t differentiate between real life and fictional life?  That’s why HEA’s feel so darn good.  I get addicted to those HEA’s on particularly bad weeks, but that’s a column for another Sunday.

Yes, according to researchers in Spain doing a study for NeuroImage and Annie Murphy Paul of the NY Times, each adventure you live through in a book, your brain feels like it’s your own experience.  Weird, huh?  So, those monsters your favorite character has killed?  Yep, you killed them too.  Woot! Fist pump!! That torture your favorite character had to endure because he/she wouldn’t tell where the grimoire was stashed? Yep, sign up for military black ops, cuz you did it too. That book boyfriend your favorite heroine fell in love with?  Uh huh, you looooove him.  It’s an amazing place, your brain.  My brain is like the inside of Disney World.  All circus and chaos.  No, really.  It is.

I relearned something this week. You know that torture thing I mentioned in the last paragraph?  Yeah…well…see, pain is not a threshold that I tolerate well.  Sickness isn’t either.  I hate being sick….or in pain. If I could make the the pain or sickness stop, I’d rat out anything. I am a Wimp. Don’t trust me with State Secrets.  The combination of the President’s safe?  Nope, not safe with me.  The release day of the super secret new book from that awesome author that everyone knows and loves?  Don’t tell me because all it would take is one trip to the Dentist and I’ll spill it all.  And that’s just for a cleaning.  Yikes.

Information from: NY Times, The Atlantic, Open Education Database, Huffington Post

Book Hunt:

22825711Title:  Justice Calling: The Twenty Sided Sorceress #1
Author: Annie Bellet
Free on Kindle

Description: Gamer. Nerd. Sorceress.

Jade Crow lives a quiet life running her comic book and game store in Wylde, Idaho. After twenty-five years fleeing from a powerful sorcerer who wants to eat her heart and take her powers, quiet suits her just fine. Surrounded by friends who are even less human than she is, Jade figures she’s finally safe.

As long as she doesn’t use her magic.

When dark powers threaten her friends’ lives, a sexy shape-shifter enforcer shows up. He’s the shifter world’s judge, jury, and executioner rolled into one, and he thinks Jade is to blame. To clear her name, save her friends, and stop the villain, she’ll have to use her wits… and her sorceress powers.

Except Jade knows that as soon as she does, a far deadlier nemesis awaits.

Justice Calling is the first book in The Twenty-Sided Sorceress urban fantasy series. Readers who enjoyed The Dresden Files or The Iron Druid Chronicles will likely enjoy this series.

Advertisements

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on March 6, 2016, in Book Hunt. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: