Book Hunt & News

Invested_Ivana_100Please send healing thoughts to Nell! She fell on the ice this week and broke a bone her her leg — a spiral fracture to one of the bones that is critical to supporting the ankle. She had to be ambulanced to a bigger city and ended up with a metal plate and six pins. Between Nell’s leg and my eye, I guess we’re keeping the hospitals in business!

Before my right eye went wonky, I was “reading” about two books a week – one in audio and one in print. I haven’t been getting the print book done recently because of my eyesight issues (and the discovery of the Zen Koi mobile game). As a consequence, I’ve been falling behind on my list of review requests.

That got me to thinking about the length of my review que and how I’m disappointing so many authors by not getting reviews done. I feel bad about that, since supporting authors was one of the reasons for starting this blog. I also don’t know what to do about it. I am a reader and have SO many books I want to read, some more than the requests I get.

Out of curiosity, I sat down with my computer and Dragon Naturally Speaking and wrote out my TBR list. I did choose to leave some books out, such as:

  • My non-fiction and historical fiction books, since I probably wouldn’t review those for this site.
  • My audio books, of which there are many.
  • Multiple books in a series. My list includes only the first book in a series or the book I need to read next.
  • Any books I want to reread.
  • Any books from my pre-ordered or wish lists.

So what I ended up with is a list of ebooks that I have bought or accepted for review, but not yet read, one book per series. Wanna know how big the list is?

346 books.

346 BOOKS! Roughly 37 of them are books I’ve accepted for review, which is only a fraction of the review requests we’ve received.

I’ve decided to blame Nell and her Book Hunts for my TBR list. But, as she’s down and out today, I’ll do a book hunt in her honor anyway. Here are two book series that have caught my eye recently that are reasonably priced on Amazon.

28962823Title: Cursed
Author: J. A. Ciprianio
Series: Thrice-Cursed Mage

Description: My name is Mac Brennan and that’s the only thing I can remember about myself. Not why I woke up in a dumpster. Not why my right arm is as black as pitch and covered in glowing red tattoos, and certainly not why a vicious death cult is after me.

Actually, that last part isn’t true. I know why the death cult is after me. It’s because I saved that damned girl from them. I didn’t know who she was at the time, but I’d have done it anyway. I just don’t like it when girls get beat up, call me old fashioned.

Still, I can tell she’s hiding something behind those devilish eyes, and if I want to find out what it is, I’ll have to help her.

My name is Mac Brennan. I have no memory, and I’m a werewolf-hunting, hellfire-flinging version of Faust himself.

28683761Title: Wrong Side of Hell
Author: Sonya Bateman
Series: The Deathspeaker Codex Book 01

Description: Hauling dead people around Manhattan is all in a day’s work for body mover Gideon Black. He lives in his van, talks to corpses, and occasionally helps the police solve murders. His life may not be normal, but it’s simple enough.

Until the corpses start talking back.

When Gideon accidentally rescues a werewolf in Central Park, he’s drawn into the secret world of the Others. Fae, were-shifters, dark magic users and more, all playing a deadly cat-and-mouse game with Milus Dei, a massive and powerful cult dedicated to hunting down and eradicating them all.

Then a dead man speaks to him, saying that Milus Dei wants him more than any Other. They’ll stop at nothing to capture him and control the abilities he never knew he had.

He is the DeathSpeaker. He is the key. And he’s not as human as he thought…

Life was a whole lot easier when the dead stayed dead.

About Invested Ivana

I read fiction for entertainment and to escape my own world; so, I don’t want to read about “real” things. I read non-fiction to learn and be inspired. For the last several years, I’ve read mostly Urban Fantasy and other things supernatural. I also enjoy Historical Fiction. I love books that go deep into characters and worlds. I really want to know the characters, to be able to invest emotionally in them and their challenges. I like learning about cultures, so understanding the world is important to me as well.

Posted on March 27, 2016, in Book Hunt. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

