The Visitor by Amanda Stevens

The VisitorTitle: The Visitor
Author: Amanda Stevens
Series: Graveyard Queen, Book 4
Publish Date: March 29, 2016
Genre:
Paranormal Mystery
Source:
NetGalley

Publisher’s Description:

Restoring lost and abandoned cemeteries is my profession, but I’m starting to believe that my true calling is deciphering the riddles of the dead. Legend has it that Kroll Cemetery is a puzzle no one has ever been able to solve. For over half a century, the answer has remained hidden within the strange headstone inscriptions and intricate engravings. Because uncovering the mystery of that tiny, remote graveyard may come at a terrible price.

Years after their mass death, Ezra Kroll’s disciples lie unquiet, their tormented souls trapped within the walls of Kroll Cemetery, waiting to be released by someone strong and clever enough to solve the puzzle. For whatever reason, I’m being summoned to that graveyard by both the living and the dead. Every lead I follow, every clue I unravel brings me closer to an unlikely killer and to a destiny that will threaten my sanity and a future with my love, John Devlin.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Ruby LRuby_Lee 100ee says…

It is almost four years ago today that I started the Graveyard Queen series.  I whipped through the first three books very quickly.  I had always heard the rumors of a fourth book, but the third book ended well so I wrote it off as finished series.  Imagine my surprise when I stumbled across this book on NetGalley.  I was so excited that I got to play with Amelia again.  I love paranormal stories, especially ones about those who can see ghosts, but the Graveyard Queen series took that concept in a direction I had never seen before.

The Series begins with the three rules that Amelia must follow to keep the ghost at bay and the third book ends with her beginning to truly understand the spirit world and what power she truly possesses.  The fourth book picks up where the third left off and quickly spirals you down into Amelia’s world, which is getting more complicated by the day.

Amanda Stevens’s writing really makes Amelia come alive, and the reader feels eachbadge4v4 terror, question, and hurt that Amelia suffers.  I sometimes felt confused about how the spirit world really works and what creatures it contains, but I soon realized that I was seeing everything through Amelia’s eyes so I was never going to know more than what she understood.There is a romantic element to the story but it is by far not a romance.  In fact, the one she loves may actually be the one that destroys her and there is no ‘happy ever after’ ending in that.

Overall, The Visitor is a captivating, beautiful told story about a woman who is more and can do more than she ever expected.  Her relationships are complicated, the story of her birth is amazing, and I can’t wait until the next book to see what path this story takes.  I recommend this book for all that love the paranormal but I also recommend that you start at the beginning of the series with The Restorer.  I think you would really miss out on a huge part of the story if you don’t experience the build up of conflict and power from one story to the next.


Lucyfer’s Corner

4 paws – This book is dark, and I loved every minute of it. Ghosts and creatures from theLucy Face other side really make my day, and I love to feel the power of fear that permeates this book. However, my favorite part is when Amelia’s dog becomes too scared of her to be with her any longer.  Dogs are such babies.  If she had a cat, the cat would figure out how to siphon off some of her power and rule the world.  Too bad Ruby’s only super power is that  her snoring could wake the dead.  I’ve used it before in ceremonies but unfortunately, once the dead hear the snoring, they crawl right back in their coffins.  The things I put up with.


Other reviews…

If you like this book…

About Ruby Lee

I have always loved reading because it is my escape, and I will read almost anything. Lately, I have been getting into nonfiction, which surprised the heck out of me. I am also into many types of romance, horror, and sci-fi with an occasional mystery or two. I promise that I will keep you on your toes because my reading preferences are all over the map. I feel I’m a tough reviewer. I rarely give five stars on any story because a five-star would have to be a book combination of The Stand meets Charlotte’s Web which in turn marries Dante’s Inferno and has an affair with Where the Sidewalk Ends. I think that if a story travels with you for the rest of your life, it should have a special distinction to set it apart. Follow me on twitter @rubylee5151 or send me an email at RubyLee5151@gmail.com.

Posted on March 29, 2016, in 4-Good, Female, Paranormal Mystery, Review, Romance, Ruby Lee and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

