Nell’s Opinion & Book Hunt

Nervous_Nellie_100

It’s been 10 days since I broke my leg and I have come to discover something…..I am not bad ass.  Nope.  Not even in the most widely interpreted sense.  When the good guys get into a fight in a story, they have their bones automatically knit and heal.  I have never thought about how much time that saves!  I also never thought about how weird it would be to be in a fight, break a bone and have that bone reset itself and heal.  What about multiple breaks?  What about a werewolf going through it’s change?  Yikes.

There are some authors that are considerate of their characters and make the werewolf change more about magic than torture.  There are some authors, Lincoln Farish and Wil Radcliffe, that explain the damage the fighting inflicts on my beloved characters.  That tells me that I am very wimpy.  That is not a fact that I was necessarily unaware of, but one that I really didn’t acknowledge.

It also reminds me of how great storytellers are distinguished.  I can’t tell a story to save my soul, but an author can weave a story and have the movie reel in my head cranking out images that sticks with me.  That is great art and talent.

 

Book Hunt:

22825711Title:  Justice Calling: The Twenty Sided Sorceress #1
Author: Annie Bellet
Free on Kindle

Description: Gamer. Nerd. Sorceress.

Jade Crow lives a quiet life running her comic book and game store in Wylde, Idaho. After twenty-five years fleeing from a powerful sorcerer who wants to eat her heart and take her powers, quiet suits her just fine. Surrounded by friends who are even less human than she is, Jade figures she’s finally safe.

As long as she doesn’t use her magic.

When dark powers threaten her friends’ lives, a sexy shape-shifter enforcer shows up. He’s the shifter world’s judge, jury, and executioner rolled into one, and he thinks Jade is to blame. To clear her name, save her friends, and stop the villain, she’ll have to use her wits… and her sorceress powers.

Except Jade knows that as soon as she does, a far deadlier nemesis awaits.

Justice Calling is the first book in The Twenty-Sided Sorceress urban fantasy series. Readers who enjoyed The Dresden Files or The Iron Druid Chronicles will likely enjoy this series.

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on April 3, 2016, in Book Hunt. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I always knew you weren’t bad ass. I just didn’t think you would believe me. 😜

    Like

Leave a Reply

