Reaping Angel by S. L. Saboviec

This is why I love indy writers and publishing!! Another amazing piece of writing from S. L. Saboviec. Her previous book, Guarding Angel, won my vote for the One Book Two 2015 Standout Awards. Reaping Angel will likely be on my 2016 list as well.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000033_00010]Title:  Reaping Angel
Author:  S. L. Saboviec
SeriesFallen Redemption Book 02
Publish Date:  April 12, 2016
Genre:  Fantasy
Source: Provided by the author

Publisher’s DescriptionAfter the battle at the Bastille, the Council of Seraphim offers reluctant demons Enael and Kaspen a chance to return to Heaven—but only after they’ve completed sufficient penance. Ready to move past the ugly chapter in their lives, they settle into their assignments.

Until Enael’s former lover, Voctic, a powerful demon, interferes.

Voctic seduces and demeans, taunts and entices Enael, stirring centuries-old longing in her while infuriating Kaspen. Caught up in the demands of their duties, Kaspen and Enael drift apart until she finds herself isolated.

Fed up with Voctic’s harassment, Enael prepares to fight back. When he targets the new human she’s responsible for protecting, she creates her own plan. His self-proclaimed “gala of the century” will be the perfect cover for her revenge. But will a hasty decision cost her Kaspen—or even her spot in Heaven?

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Invested_Ivana_100Invested Ivana says…

Last October, I reviewed a book called Guarding Angel. It was fascinating and unlike anything I had read before. Now I have the privilege of revisiting Eneal as she does penance for her Fall in an attempt to reconnect with the Source and return to her status as an angel.

Once again, I have to say that Saboviec’s writing isn’t like anything I’ve experienced from another author. Guarding Angel did a great job of communicating Eneal’s confusion, lack of direction, and feelings of helplessness about her life and the events she experienced. In Reaping Angel, Eneal is sad and angry at the way she’s being used by everyone from the Council to her former-Archangel-turned-demon, Voctic. She’s tired of being manipulated, lied to, and punished for things out of her control. The writing communicates Eneal’s emotions so well that I felt myself relating my own experiences to hers and getting angry for us both!

As with Guarding, it’s hard to decide which I enjoyed more–Eneal’s story or that of her Wards. In Reaping, Eneal is a Reaper-Guardian to a human who has taken on the challenge of being a Victimizer in her current life. Her story is just as compelling a Eneal’s and could be a book all on its own.

badge5v4Saboviec’s writing and story telling is so good that it’s hard to describe to someone else. It feels more literary than most commercial fiction and yet is very entertaining. You just need to pick it up and try it for yourself; I guarantee it will leave you a bit awestruck.

About Invested Ivana

I read fiction for entertainment and to escape my own world; so, I don’t want to read about “real” things. I read non-fiction to learn and be inspired. For the last several years, I’ve read mostly Urban Fantasy and other things supernatural. I also enjoy Historical Fiction. I love books that go deep into characters and worlds. I really want to know the characters, to be able to invest emotionally in them and their challenges. I like learning about cultures, so understanding the world is important to me as well.

Posted on April 12, 2016, in 5-Great, Female, Historical Fantasy/Gaslamp, Invested Ivana, Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

