Biting Cold by Chloe Neill

It’s up to Merit.  GP won’t help, Shifters want to lay low.  Long live Cadogan House.

11746102Title Biting Cold
AuthorChloe Neill
Series: Chicagoland Vampires #6
Publish Date:  August 7, 2012
Genre:  Urban Fantasy
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionTurned into a vampire against her will, twenty-eight-year-old Merit found her way into the dark circle of Chicago’s vampire underground, where she learned there was more to supernaturals than met the eye—and more supernaturals than the public ever imagined. And not all the secrets she learned were for sharing—among humans or inhumans.

Now Merit is on the hunt, charging across the stark American Midwest, tailing a rogue supernatural intent on stealing an ancient artifact that could unleash catastrophic evil on the world. But Merit is also the prey. An enemy of Chicagoland is hunting her, and he’ll stop at nothing to get the book for himself. No mercy allowed. No rules apply. No lives spared. The race is on.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Nervous_Nellie_100Nervous Nellie says…

“Supernatural man drama was making me grouchy.”      OR

“A vampire’s best ally, Sentinel, is the guy that makes your enemy more nervous than you do.”

This is an urban fantasy with a little vampire romance mixed in.  There is a good wrap up to the book, but the story isn’t done.  There is no cliffhanger. This is not a stand alone, please start with Book 1.

I am aware that this book was released in 2012, but just recently the author released Book #12 in the series.  I can safely read Book 6 because there is a few book buffer there, however, I have been warned that there will only be 13 books in the series. That kind of bums me out.

After the drama in Book 4 and the clean up in Book 5, this book was relatively tame.  Book 4 was very emotional for me and nearly turned me off the series, but I soldiered on.  Book 6 brought the fractured pieces back together and started everyone down a new road.

Merit has grown a lot since Books 4 and 5.  She’s matured and refined her position as Sentinel of Cadogan house.  She is trying very hard to bring peace to her city.  She hasn’t the experience all the other supernatural creatures in Chicago have, but she’s the only one stepping up to the plate to help.  I stand behind that.

badge4v4I recommend this series since it’s such a long running series.  I feel like I’m part of a family, but with the end near, I know I will crash and burn with sadness for their loss. I like keeping company with the Cadogan house vampires and Jonah.  I really like Jonah.  Lot’s more than Ethan, but I’m not in control of THAT situation.  I’m ready for Book 7 to see where this new road Ethan has taken for his vampires and if he truly will be solid for Merit.

Other reviews…

If you like this book…

…you might try  SPI Files by Lisa Shearin, Immortal Vegas series by Jenn Stark or Adventures of Owl by Kristi Charish.

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on April 26, 2016, in 4-Good, Nervous Nellie, Review, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

