Book Expo America 2016

imageWow. Chicago, IL downtown. Ever been? It’s very pretty. Old buildings, pretty flowers and lots of traffic.  BEA took place at McCormick Center. It’s a huge convention hall and the exhibit hall was wall to wall business about books.

There were publishers, authors, book sellers, bloggers, press, librarians, promoters and other VIP’s that I can’t think of right now. The theme this year was mostly YA and children’s books, but there were plenty of romance artists there too. Oh, and adult coloring books were big. The most interesting adult coloring book was a paint by number piece except with stickers. I hear you say “Whaaaaa??” I know, right? It is soooo cool! Workman Publishing has brought us such a thing.  It’s called “Paint by Sticker Masterpieces” I preordered mine from Amazon just for fun. It’s kind of a trip back to childhood, you know?

I stood in line for author’s signatures. I was happy to get one imagefrom Jill Shalvis, Lori Foster, Robin Carr, Michael Connelly, Marcia Clark, Mary Burton, Heather Graham, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Jade Lee, and Elizabeth Briggs. Each author was congenial and Robin Carr took my ranting about the conclusion the Virgin River series in stride. She just hung her head in defeat and said “I only had 20 in me!” She was fun to visit.

While getting his autograph, Michael Connelly talked briefly about the cancellation of ABC’s “Castle.” “Have you heard!?” He asks and then proceeds to commiserate with me over losing a greatly loved TV series.

Getting around was fairly painless. BEA had busses to herd their guests from point A to point B and it appeared everything ran smoothly.  I am still not able to navigate steps so I requested an ADA bus. It was driven by Robert Brooks and he was the NICEST man.

imageThe event was huge, but being handicapped as I am, I had no trouble at all.  The people were friendly and welcoming. The staff  at McCormick Place were especially nice. I would recommend going to BEA at least once for the experience. It was fun.

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on May 15, 2016, in Book Chat. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Reblogged this on JAMES A. HUNTER and commented:
    Crazy-jealous. Maybe one day I’ll get out to one of these things. Glad to hear the bum leg isn’t keeping you from getting around, though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

