The Pretender by Rob Blackwell

Much anticipated sequel to Forest of Forever. Will Soren Chase ever come to terms with his past? Or is it really HIS past?

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

imageTitle: The Pretender
Author: Rob Blackwell
Series: Soren Chase #2
Publish Date: May 24, 2016
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Source: NetGalley

Publisher’s Description: A young girl slaughters her entire family in a quiet suburban neighborhood. The police say she snapped, but Soren Chase knows the truth. Having dedicated his life to hunting down the creature that murdered his best friend and left him framed for the crime eight years ago, Soren expertly recognizes the villain’s hallmarks in the young girl’s rampage: a pretender—a supernatural creature that can steal the identity and memories of its targets—has struck again.

Recently shattered by the realization that the monster he hunted for so long is far closer than he ever imagined, Soren needs to find a way to put the pieces back together if he wants to protect his remaining loved ones. To face this new threat, Soren must learn to cope with the past, forge an unlikely alliance, and battle an ancient foe with a sinister agenda that could kill millions.

Nervous Nellie’s nervousness necessitates knowledge of the novel (or, in other words, SPOILERS).


Nervous_Nellie_100Nervous Nellie says…

This is a dark urban fantasy mystery thriller. Some violence and more than one mention of suicide.

I was hit with a mind bender at the end of Book 1. Soren Chase is a paranormal investigator who figured out he is actually the monster that he’s been hunting for so many years after the deaths of his friends. The creature that Soren hunts is called a Pretender. They can take the body shape and memories of their victims to essentially take their place.

I have mixed feelings about this story. Oh, don’t get me wrong, the writing and the story is badge4v4great, it’s just *I’m* having as much trouble coming to terms with Soren’s identity as he is. Soren hates what he is enough to create a list of different ways to kill himself; when one way doesn’t work, he crosses it off the list.  I feel such empathy for this character that it’s hard to remember that he’s actually a monster….or is he?

Something is wrong in the paranormal/supernatural world. The presence of evil creatures are increasing. There are demons making sacrifices. There is a more evil being is forcing other creatures to help him so he may forward his evil plan. I learned more about Pretenders and what they can do. I learned that there aren’t that many and Soren may be the key to save us all. I learned that Pretenders don’t have to kill their hosts.  I learned exactly why Soren isn’t “Falk” (his Pretender name). I have never met a twist like this, and it’s very well written and even though I wanted to look away several times after my favorite character was damaged, I couldn’t.  It’s that good.

Our reviews in this series…

Other reviews…

If you like this book…

…you might try:

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on May 23, 2016, in 4-Good, Horror, Male, Nervous Nellie, Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

Leave a Reply

