The Warrior by Victoria Scott

Wow, what an ending! I was hoping the author would bring back the idea that Dante hates cats. I really was. There was a lot of humor mixed in after all that sadness. When Kraven came into their bedroom to deliver the Liberator news, I giggled so much. Spoilers ahead!

The WarriorTitle:  The Warrior
Author:  Victoria Scott
SeriesDante Walker Book 03
Publish Date:  May 6, 2014
Genre:  YA Urban Fantasy
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionWar between heaven and hell is coming, but Dante Walker makes it look damn good.

Dante’s girlfriend, Charlie, is fated to save the world. And Aspen, the girl who feels like a sister, is an ordained soldier. In order to help both fulfill their destiny and win the war, Dante must complete liberator training at the Hive, rescue Aspen from hell, and uncover a message hidden on an ancient scroll.

Dante is built for battle, but even he can’t handle the nightmares where spiders crawl from Aspen’s eyes, or the look on Charlie’s face that foretells of devastation. To make matters worse, the enemy seizes every opportunity to break inside the Hive and cripple the liberators. But the day of reckoning is fast approaching, and to stand victorious, Dante will have to embrace something inside himself he never has before—faith.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

Sad day, I wasn’t expecting to see Max go.

But Mrs. Scott has such a fabulous way of leading you in five different directions. I mean, not once did I expect Golden Girl Valery to be the traitor. She leads you to think it may be Paine (which also becomes true later on but you don’t expect it because you think the culprit is caught) and Neco and even Max. I have always suspected Blue kinda had a secret agenda but I was foiled once again. He WAS creeping around one of the rooms when the sirens/collectors snuck in through the vultrip. And he did absolutely hate Dante for a bit.

And holy crap lots of sexy times.

I was expecting…less romance, more action. I know they have their training and their wings and that’s cool. But I would have liked to hear more about what was going on with Aspen and Charlie, not just what Dante thought about the situation. I mean, what was happening to Aspen in hell? What happened when Charlie was taken down there? I know Dante has his moments where he’s cocky and gives two shits less – but the info would have been nice to have.

I’ll be honest – at first I was only going to give this three stars. It’s a great story. But the battle scenes were a little off for me. I mean, as an author I know it’s hard to write multiple scenes in the war as a first person narrator since technically Dante can only take in so much, but there was no flow to it really.

And honestly, I think I have a love-hate relationship with Dante. There are times when he’s so adorable and makes you want to giggle. Then there are times when he becomes so clingy and obsessive that I want to punch him in the face. Like when he gets all concerned with Charlie. Granted, I’d like a man to watch my back too. But if I’ve clearly got a destiny and know what the hell I’m doing, he’d better stay out of my way. I mean, come on, just let her do what she needs to do. Stop smothering.

badge4v4Anyway, recommended for fans of angels and demons and lots of hot romance scenes. Great ending to a great trilogy!

Our reviews in this series…

Other reviews…

If you like this book…

…you might try the Charley Davidson series by Darynda Jones, the Hush, Hush series by Becca Fitzpatrick, or the Fallen series by Lauren Kate.

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on May 26, 2016, in 4-Good, Kat Mandu, Review, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

