Parched by Andrew C. Branham

The sun is dying. The Earth is baked. How far would you be willing to go to save your family?

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ParchedTitle:  Parched
Author: Andrew C. Branham
Series: Parched Series, Book 1
Publish Date: April 14th 2016
Genre: Post-Apocalyptic
SourceWordslinger

Publisher’s DescriptionThe sun has become a ‘red giant’ and the world is hot and parched. In California, James and Lexie Deforio have three goals: to find food and water, to survive another day, and to protect their two children. When their home is abruptly robbed and burned to the ground, the family is forced to embark on a cross-country journey in search of safety and water.

Facing ruthless bandits, murderers, and some of the most extreme conditions they have ever encountered, they struggle to survive. When James is shot trying to help another family, Lexie and her children set out on a harrowing journey to save him. Finding temporary safety in the abandoned Ohio salt mines deep under Lake Erie, they appear to have found a new home. But, like everything on their journey, not all is as it seems.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Luna_Lovebooks_100Luna Lovebooks says…

My list of what I didn’t like is short for this one so I’ll start there, then get to the good stuff.

There were parts of the story where I felt the author was telling readers what was happening rather than showing. I don’t want to be told that the dog is mummified; I want to be able to see it for myself.

For me Silas was a little clichéd. We have a boy who is good at arts and theater and just so happens to be gay? Don’t get me wrong, I love his character but I feel like the effeminate boy who turns out to be gay is overly-used.

I also feel that we need a little more background info on the father James. I was hoping to find the reason he lost his faith but it was never brought up. That being said I love how his Christian upbringing/background is constantly at odds with his survival instinct for him and his family. He struggles with the way this world of death works and how the people have turned so evil in his mind.

I love the fact that Lexie and Silas must also step up and survive without compromising their beliefs, especially after James dies.

The plot is original and could easily happen in real life. On their journey from their home in California to their hometown in Lorain Ohio, the characters face everything from bandits and gangs to a sick infant. At first it seemed like a lot to face for one family; but, as I got to thinking about it, I realized that the world would probably end up like this if, indeed, our sun turns red giant.

I also love the fact that just when the family thinks they are safe or that all hope is lost, something or someone intervenes and they are set back on track.

badge4v4Overall I really liked this book and hope I get a chance to read the rest of the series to find out what happens to Lexie, Silas, and the baby as well as the rest of the family and the little community where they end up. I give it 4 stars.

Other reviews…

If you like this book…

Check out these other great post-apocalyptic reads: Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel, On the Edge of Gone by Corinne Duyvis, and The Last Girl by Joe Hart.

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

About Luna Lovebooks

I love books! I also write in my spare time but due to a crazy life and millions of ideas, I have yet to finish something :/

Posted on June 6, 2016, in 4-Good, Both Genders, Dystopian/Post-Apocalyptic, Luna Lovebooks, Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

