Switchblade Heart by A. Denning

If you’re looking for an action-packed thriller featuring a sexy and smart bodyguard with stabby tendencies and a wicked past, this one is for you.

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Switchblade HeartTitle:  Switchblade Heart
Author:  A. Denning
Publish Date:  July 28, 2015
Genre:  Thriller
SourceWordslinger

Publisher’s DescriptionReno Villarrubia has killed more men than she has kissed. A fierce Colombian bodyguard who carries a switchblade in her boot, she protects a blackmarket kingpin named Victor Pagnolli.

When Pagnolli is blackmailed by a cop who knows more than he should, Reno must stay alive on a reckless one-hundred-mile journey through the criminal underworld surrounded by treachery, murderous jealousy, and pursuing FBI agents. As the clock ticks away, Reno knows she is just one bad break away from being killed or arrested.

In this suspenseful story, criminal and cop, liar and lover, and innocent and immoral all collide together in an underworld climax where there is nowhere to hide.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

So, granted, I don’t usually review thrillers without the supernatural edge. But this one really caught my attention and I’m glad I picked it up. It’s a fast-paced read with adrenaline-punching twists, powerful emotions, and lots of violence.

Reno is a tough gal with an edge, given her dark past. But she’s got love and a weird kind of family, even if they’re all slightly criminals. When her boss wants to get away from the life but has to get rid of a cop who’s blackmailing them, things go badly. She discovers her lover’s got secrets, the dirty cop Carter is more dangerous than she imagined, and she loses a friend along the way.

It’s all a wild ride I sincerely enjoyed and even has an open ending that makes you think there’s going to be a sequel. Or maybe it’s just not a very happy ending? I guess we’ll find out because I’ll be watching for sure.

badge4v4This gets a four from me for all kinds of good stuff. But since I normally don’t read thrillers, I don’t have much to recommend. But if you like action types of movies, it’s in the vein of Swordfish, The Losers, and Four Brothers. Sometimes it reminded me of Rules of Survival by Jus Accardo, but the character in Switchblade Heart are much older and a lot less innocent.

Other reviews…

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on June 7, 2016, in 4-Good, Female, Kat Mandu, Review, Thriller/Suspense and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m more into speculative fiction, but I do love strong female protagonists so I’ll have a look at this one. Great review!
    Rebecca @ The Portsmouth Review
    Follow me on Bloglovin’

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

