Sample Review: Weregirl by C.D. Bell

While at Book Expo America this year, I picked up a sample of a book called Weregirl.  Not only did the beautiful wolf eyes capture my attention, but the publisher, Chooseco, is the company who publishes the Choose Your Own Adventure books I loved as a kid.  Weregirl is NOT a Choose Your Own Adventure book, though; it is a normal full-length YA novel.  Here is my review of the sample.

weregirlTitle:  Weregirl – 16 Chapter Sample
Author:  C. D. Bell
Series: stand-alone
Publish Date:  Expected Nov. 1, 2016
Genre:  YA Urban Fantasy
Source: Provided by the publisher

Publisher’s Description: Eager to escape her small hometown, high school junior Nessa Kurland is focused on winning a college scholarship for cross-country running. A chance encounter with a trapped wolf while out on a run leads to powerful and frightening changes, and one day, Nessa is transformed into a full werewolf. Now Nessa must navigate the challenges of high school while coming face to face with true human darkness, as she tries to make peace with her new wild nature.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Invested_Ivana_100Invested Ivana says…

My first impression of Weregirl, from the 16-chapter sample, is very positive. The writing is clear and clean and I connect with all the characters. I have read a LOT of werewolf books, so the symptoms the main character, Nessa, experiences leading up to her first change aren’t completely novel, but they are very well done.

What *is* novel, for me at least, is the rest of the story. I like the idea that Nessa’s town is suffering from chemical poisoning by a large corporation. I wonder if that will come into play in the main story, along with the curious history of the doctor who cares for the affected children. I like the ambiguous interactions between Nessa and two of the other high-school students; it makes me wonder if they aren’t also werewolves or at least know about the wolves. Nessa is attempting to save a trapped wolf when she is bitten by a second wolf; I want to know who both of these wolves are; are they the other high-school students, or someone we haven’t met yet?

I’m also VERY curious about what is going to happen next, past the part where the sample stops. Nessa consults a shaman who tells her she was chosen by the wolves, but chosen for WHAT? Why did Nessa become a werewolf and how does this relate to the prologue in the book, which has nothing to do with Nessa (or so it seems)?

I like the characters and relationships. I love the loyalty of Nessa’s best friend and the hints that her autistic brother may be more observant than she originally believed. I’m very curious to see what becomes of the relationships with the other high-school students as well.

badge4v4I really enjoyed this sample and, based on what I’ve read so far, highly recommend it to fans of supernatural YA. I’m not a huge fan of most YA, but I found myself intrigued by the story. I can’t wait to get my hands on the full novel.

About Invested Ivana

I read fiction for entertainment and to escape my own world; so, I don’t want to read about “real” things. I read non-fiction to learn and be inspired. For the last several years, I’ve read mostly Urban Fantasy and other things supernatural. I also enjoy Historical Fiction. I love books that go deep into characters and worlds. I really want to know the characters, to be able to invest emotionally in them and their challenges. I like learning about cultures, so understanding the world is important to me as well.

Posted on June 8, 2016, in 4-Good, Female, Invested Ivana, Review, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. This sounds like it will be a good read.Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Blog Tour: Weregirl by C.D.Bell | One Book Two

  2. Pingback: Review of Weregirl by C.D. Bell | One Book Two

Leave a Reply

