Limbo by Marko Pandza

When the author said he wanted to write something strange, memorable, poetic, funny, gruesome and disturbing he wasn’t kidding. Limbo is a wonderful mix of all that and more.

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Limbo2Title:  Limbo
Author: Marko Pandza
Series: stand-alone
Publish Date: April 20, 2016
Genre: Literary Horror
Source: Provided by the author

Publisher’s DescriptionThis is a story of a man who accidentally becomes Grim the Reaper, the most highly revered killer in Limbo. A place beyond time and space as we know it where psychopaths compete for perverse honour and status as they carry out their deathly duties.

As Grim struggles to hold onto the memories of the life he’s lost, he discovers that the insane being who shaped him (and the course of existence itself) may have sinister plans for the one thing he values most.

In Limbo, the end is only the beginning.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Luna_Lovebooks_100Luna Lovebooks says…

When I first started Limbo I was like, “What did I get myself into?” But the more I read, the more I didn’t want to put the book down! Limbo is definitely gruesome and disturbing in places, but that is offset by the funny and poetic moments sprinkled throughout the novel. The plot is very original and flows well. The imagination used to create the world of Limbo and its inhabitants – wow! – I don’t know whether to be impressed or a little frightened! I love how John Grim pulls at readers’ heart strings and clings to his humanity when it should have been stripped from him. Dora is just as gritty and well developed.

badge5v4The only real issue I had was there is a point in the book where the police are talking about a John Grim and how he disappeared a long time ago, long enough for a few wars, industrial revolutions and a several hundred more years on top of that. It threw me because the story seemed like it was set in modern times. So I was confused as to whether John and Dora’s story at the beginning of the novel was in the past and the rest of the novel is in the present or if their story was in the present and the rest in the future.

Overall I loved this novel and give it five scythes!

Other reviews…

If you like this book…

…you might try Human No Longer by Kathryn Meyer Griffith, Northwoods by Bill Schweigart, Shadow of the Oak (A Sal Van Sleen Adventure) by Eric Edstrom.

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

About Luna Lovebooks

I love books! I also write in my spare time but due to a crazy life and millions of ideas, I have yet to finish something :/

Posted on June 17, 2016, in 5-Great, Horror, Luna Lovebooks, Male, Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

