Boundary Born by Melissa F. Olson

I love the Boundary Magic series by Melissa F. Olson! The newest book, Boundary Born, gives us another great adventure in Boulder’s Old World community, and some personal history about Lex.

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Boundary BornTitle:  Boundary Born
Author:  Melissa F. Olson
SeriesBoundary Magic Book 03
Publish Date:  June 21, 2016
Genre:  Urban Fantasy

Source: NetGalley

Publisher’s DescriptionSomething wicked is at work in Colorado’s supernatural community. Vampires are being paralyzed or killed with poison…a weapon favored by witches. This offense threatens to break apart the already-fractured alliance between witches and the undead.

The state’s cardinal vampire, Maven, summons boundary witch Allison “Lex” Luther to stop the killing before it ignites a war. Lex has barely started investigating when she gets another surprise: the biological father she’s never met arrives on her doorstep. He has answers to all of Lex’s questions about her bloodline, but getting those answers could mean betraying the life she’s already built.

Then the next vampire is poisoned—and this time it’s Maven herself. The new evil that hunts Lex is powerful and ruthless enough to stop the strongest supernatural creature in the state. In order to find such a killer, Lex will have to face down her own birthright and call on every ally—both living and dead.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


 

Nervous Nellie says……Nervous_Nellie_100

This is an urban fantasy with a strong female lead and a sexy vampire partner.  It’s a part of a series and the series should not be missed.  There is violence and blood but that usually always goes hand in hand when vampires are in the book.

I love this series.  Melissa Olson’s writing is so good, I feel like she is the narrator and I’m watching the story unfold through a crystal ball.  I don’t notice the descriptive parts of the scenes, I just see them.  I really like Lex.  I think she should follow her gut more.  If something doesn’t feel right, she should examine it – she made that error in judgment a couple of times in the book.

My favorite part of the book was where Lex was being totally honest about her mom.

And as much as I loved my parents, I was pretty sure my mother privately thought all my rescue animals should be put down before they ruined my house any further.

badge5v4That quote put me in a place where I could totally relate to Lex. Usually, these private thoughts are kept very private.  There is no negativity cast upon the “perfect” parents.  This was very refreshing, because parents are human too and they will always think they know best.

I learned a little more about the team, Simon, Lily, Quinn and boundary magic.  This was one of those books that made me forget about time and responsibilities.  I just had to get to the conclusion and find out what happened.  Trust me, when you start this series, you will not wish to stop.

Invested_Ivana_100Invested Ivana says…

What drew me to this book: So far, I’ve enjoyed everything I’ve read by Melissa F. Olson; but, her Boundary Magic series is by far my favorite.

Why I kept reading: This book deals with the origins of boundary magic and the blood family of the protagonist, Lex. Lex and her twin were adopted by the Luthers, a completely non-magic family. The previous two books mention this, but don’t pursue the question of Lex’s parentage. In Boundary Born, Lex’s birth family comes looking for her, bringing some answers, but even more questions, about the nature of boundary magic and the history of magic in general.

The friendship and teamwork among Lex, Quinn, Simon, and Lily is one of my favorite parts of this series. They love and trust each other, and accept each other,  faults and all.

I’m really liking Mavin, the vampire ruler of Boulder, as well. She has a good side to her, despite being a scary strong vampire. She’s honorable, at least, as well as ruthless and practical.

badge5v4Why I recommend it: The Boundary Magic series is really good urban fantasy, and Boundary Born in particular is a strong story. If you haven’t picked up this series, now is the time!

Our reviews in this series…

If you like this book…

… you might try the companion series about Scarlet Bernard. Scarlet and the supernaturals in LA are mentioned in Boundary Born. Olson also has several shorts set in the same universe as both Scarlet and Lex.

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

About Invested Ivana

I'm currently a freelance line editor, a book blogger at One Book Two, and lifetime reader. I like geeky things. All opinions expressed on this site are my own and do not reflect the opinions of Red Adept Editing or any of my clients, the other reviewers on this site, or this site as a whole.

Posted on June 21, 2016, in 5-Great, Invested Ivana, Nervous Nellie, Review, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

