Locke & Key, Vol. 1: Welcome to Lovecraft by Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez

“A gripping account of the shattered Locke family’s attempt to rebuild after the father/husband is murdered by a deranged high school student and the family subsequently moving in with the deceased father’s brother at the family homestead in Maine. But as anyone who has read horror fiction in the past 70-odd years will tell you, it’s a bad idea to try to leave behind the gruesome goings-on in your life by moving to an island named Lovecraft.” —From Amazon

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Locke & Key2Title:  Locke & Key, Vol. 1: Welcome to Lovecraft
Author:  Joe Hill, Gabriel Rodriguez
SeriesLock & Key, Book 01
Publish Date: August 18th 2009
Genre:  Horror Graphic Novel
Source: Provided by the publisher

Publisher’s Description: Locke & Key tells of Keyhouse, an unlikely New England mansion, with fantastic doors that transform all who dare to walk through them, and home to a hate-filled and relentless creature that will not rest until it forces open the most terrible door of them all! Acclaimed suspense novelist and New York Times best-selling author Joe Hill (Heart-Shaped Box) creates an all-new story of dark fantasy and wonder, with astounding artwork from Gabriel Rodriguez.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Percy_Procrastinator_100Percy Procrastinator says…

Things I didn’t like: The only minor thing I can think of is this lingering worry that the series as a whole won’t be as good as this introduction.

Things I liked: Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez weave a fascinating tale; I was pulled into the story right away. Flashback stories can be hit or miss with me but in this one, it works to tell a complex and well connected tale. The late revelations hit home and hit hard in a satisfying way.

The artwork is gorgeous. I know they have to strike a balance in how long the art takes, so I’m pleased at what they have. The main images are realistic and background images are merely less detailed. One of the things that struck me is the use of shadowing to give that 3D look, or at least more than flat look. The art speaks for itself and is part of the story, for without the details and style it brings, the words would have to work twice as hard.

badge5v4It was not my intention to become the Graphic Novel reviewer for this site, but so many good ones have been pointed out to me recently that I have enjoyed reading. After finishing this one, I wanted to know what was next!

Other reviews…

If you like this book…

I haven’t read enough horror graphic novels to have some good recommendations.  I’m sure there are some great ones out there.

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

About Percy Procrastinator

I'll get to it

Posted on June 25, 2016, in 5-Great, Graphic Novel, Horror, Percy Procrastinator, Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

