Blood Witch by Cate Tiernan

Morgan’s life has become complicated to say the least. She and her boyfriend Cal are being stalked by his half-brother, Hunter, who claims Cal can’t be trusted. Morgan’s discovering more about her powers and her family, even the darkest secrets she doesn’t want to know. And the bonds she has between her friends, family, and new boyfriend are being stretched to their breaking points.

blood witchTitle:  Blood Witch
Author:  Cate Tiernan
SeriesSweep Book 03
Publish Date:  April 23, 2001
Genre:  YA Fantasy
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionEvery day, I learn more about magick. The more I learn, the more my power grows. Sometimes, my own strength frightens me.

I know I’m alone, though. Cal is with me, my soul mate, my partner, my love.

Now I feel a shadow over us. When I cast out my senses, I pick up danger. But is it real, or is it all in my mind?

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

Gorgeous magick! I cannot stress enough how much I love that the author blends true Wiccan ideas and ethics into a fantasy series so well. The rituals and theories are true, but Morgan’s powers not (some of them at least) and yet, it seems realistic. I love the idea of seven different clans and a made-up history that seems legit enough.

badge4v4Since I’ve already read this series before, I find myself mentally screaming at Morgan, hoping she will open her eyes and just see things for what they are. I wish she’d do a clarity spell, especially since the author drops little hints here and there that help readers know there’s a lot more going on than she realizes. Morgan’s world is about to flip again and there will be choices she’ll be forced choice make that she won’t like. I love the semi-cliffhanger ending and the intensity of the last couple pages.

There’s so many spells here and the introduction to new characters promises more. I’m really enjoying the cliffhangers left at each chapter and the end of the book itself. It’s building up to a great battle and you’ll start to notice who’s on each side.

Books in this series…

Links will become active as reviews are posted.

Other reviews…

If you like this book…

…you might like So Mote It Be by Isobel Bird, Blue is For Nightmares series by Laurie Faria Stolarz, or Don’t Die Dragonfly by Linda Joy Singleton.

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on June 30, 2016, in 4-Good, Contemporary Fantasy, Female, Kat Mandu, Review, Young Adult and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

