Locke & Key, Vol. 2: Head Games by Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez

“Following a shocking death that dredges up memories of their father’s murder, Kinsey and Tyler Locke are thrown into choppy emotional waters, and turn to their new friend, Zack Wells, for support, little suspecting Zack’s dark secret. Meanwhile, six-year-old Bode Locke tries to puzzle out the secret of the head key, and Uncle Duncan is jarred into the past by a disturbingly familiar face. Open your mind — the head games are just getting started!” —From Amazon

Locke Key 2Title:  Locke & Key, Vol. 2: Head Games
Author:  Joe Hill, Gabriel Rodriguez
SeriesLocke & Key Book 02
Publish Date:  October 19, 2010
Genre:  Horror Graphic Novel
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s Description: The three Locke children–survivors of a horrific home invasion that claimed their father–have just begun to rebuild their lives when little Bode discovers a key with an incredible power. Q: What if overcoming your fears, mastering any skill, learning any art was as simple as turning a key in a lock? A: It could cost you your life – especially if Dodge, the malevolent creature who is the Locke family’s sworn enemy, gets his hands on it. Written by Hill and featuring the mind-bending art of Gabriel Rodriguez, the second installment of Locke & Key is one head-trip you won’t forget.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Percy_Procrastinator_100Percy Procrastinator says…

Things I didn’t like: I think the antagonist is a bit too powerful and almost a bit too knowing of what their enemies are doing or where they are. I also think the keys used are too powerful. It’s more that I’m worried that what made a great story now will be forgotten later, because it is so powerful of a tool.

Things I liked: I really liked what the head key could do and want my own! I liked the setup of a longer story of the Locke family and their past catching up to them. The art continues to amaze me in how much it helps tell the story. All graphic novels rely on art but for some reason, I really think Mr. Rodriguez’ style complements and adds a whole new level to it, in ways I have not seen before.

badge4v4I find myself giving this a lower rating than the first volume only because the first one was so good, it was going to be tough to do the follow up. While this is still a great story, it felt more like a setup into a longer narrative, whereas the first one stood alone and felt like a much stronger story because of it. Both left me wanting to know more but this one felt like the payoff is going to take a bit longer.

Our reviews in this series…

Other reviews…

If you like this book…

I notice Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez have collaborated on a graphic version of NOS4R2 and a related original story called The Wraith.  I haven’t read these, but I think I’ll check them out.  The only other horror graphic novel I’ve really read is the first The Walking Dead compendium, which I enjoyed.

About Percy Procrastinator

I'll get to it

Posted on July 9, 2016, in 4-Good, Both Genders, Graphic Novel, Horror, Percy Procrastinator, Review, Saturday Shorts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

