It Happened One Doomsday by Laurence MacNaughton

The end of the world is almost here, and the only people who can stop it are a brash demon hunter, a possessed auto mechanic, and a new age shop owner with a little crystal magic. We’re doomed for sure. 😉

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

It Happened One DoomsdayTitle: It Happened One Doomsday
Author: Laurence MacNaughton
Series: stand alone (so far)
Publish Date:  July 12, 2016
Genre:  Urban fantasy
Source: Provided by the publisher

Publisher’s DescriptionMagic is real. A handful of sorcerers wield arcane power against demons and the forces of darkness. These protectors of the powerless are the best magic-users in the world. Unfortunately, Dru isn’t one of them. She’s got magical potential. She uses crystals to see enchantments, and she can research practically anything in the library in the back of her little store, sandwiched between a pawnshop and a 24-hour liquor mart. She sells enough crystals, incense, and magic charms to scrape by.

Everything changes the day a handsome mechanic pulls up in a possessed black muscle car, his eyes glowing red. Just being near Greyson raises Dru’s magical powers to dizzying heights. But he’s been cursed to transform into a demonic creature that could bring about a fiery doomsday. There’s only one chance to break Greyson’s curse—and it’s about to fall into Dru’s inexperienced hands. . . .

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Invested_Ivana_100Invested Ivana says…

What drew me to this book: When I received the request for this book, I thought the description sounded really intriguing. It seemed as if the book might have a little of everything—humor, romance, battles, magic—and be a light, fun read.

Why I kept reading: Doomsday delivers on the promise of its description! It’s kind of crazy, kind of sweet, kind of scary, and a lot of fun.

Being told in the third person, I immediately assumed this book wouldn’t get too in-depth with character personalities. I was concerned the story would feel “shallow” and that I wouldn’t enjoy it. Part of what I like about urban fantasy is the first-person, “in-the-mind-of-the-character” perspective.

However, I was completely wrong about that. No, the characters aren’t developed in the same way as in first-person narratives; but, they are much more developed than I expected they’d be. Their personalities are developed through the reader’s observation over time, so that by the end of the book, each of them felt real to me. I may not know each character from the inside out, but I know enough about them for the story to make sense and to speculate about some of the things we don’t learn in the book.

The story mostly focuses on the action, and there is a LOT of action, mostly revolving around some (I imagine) beautiful classic muscle cars. I’m not really a car person, but even I can appreciate ’60s muscle cars, especially ones that drive themselves. Too bad they’re possessed by evil demons, or I’d be shelling out the money for one of those!

badge4v4Why I recommend itIt Happened One Doomsday is a fun read, a great popcorn book. It’s a lot like a summer movie—lots of action and fun without too much brain strain, a great palate cleanser in between more serious reads. I enjoyed it a lot and really hope we get the sequel soon!

If you like this book…

…you might try a couple of the lighter reads I’ve reviewed lately: The Devil’s Mouth by Matt Kincade or Death and Relaxation by Devon Monk. If you like crystal magic, try the Gargoyle Guardian series by Rebecca Chastain or Boundary Born by Melissa F. Olson.

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

About Invested Ivana

I'm currently a freelance line editor, a book blogger at One Book Two, and lifetime reader. I like geeky things. All opinions expressed on this site are my own and do not reflect the opinions of Red Adept Editing or any of my clients, the other reviewers on this site, or this site as a whole.

Posted on July 12, 2016, in 4-Good, Invested Ivana, Review, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the fantastic review! I’m so glad you enjoyed IT HAPPENED ONE DOOMSDAY. As you can imagine, it was incredibly fun to write, and I’m excited to announce that Book 2 is definitely a go. So you’ll be seeing more of Dru’s magic and her crazy friends soon!

    By the way, I’m also giving away a free prequel short story called MAGIC CARPET RIDE, wherein Dru gets into serious sorcery trouble with a … Well, the title says it all. 🙂 Come check it out at http://www.laurencemacnaughton.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Really looking forward to reading this!

    Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: “Lots of action and fun!” –One Book Two | LAURENCE MACNAUGHTON

Leave a Reply

