Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency: The Interconnectedness of All Kings

Dirk GentlyTitle: Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency: The Interconnectedness of All Kings
Author: Chris Ryall, Tony Akins (Illustrations), Ilias Kyriazis (Illustrations)
Series: stand alone
Publish Date:  January 26, 2016
Genre:  Paranormal Mystery, Humor, Graphic Novel
Source: From where you got the book

Publisher’s Description: After writing all the many and conflicting versions of the legendary “Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy,” beloved author Douglas Adams created Dirk Gently: a detective with a belief in the fundamental interconnectedness of all things, a unique relationship with the laws of probability and physics, and a love of cats and pizza.

In his first-ever comic series, Dirk has been forced to leave his beloved England behind, coming to the too-sunny, too-cheery, and altogether too-bizarre-even-for-Dirk city of San Diego, California, where he gets embroiled in three separate (or are they?) cases involving reincarnated Egyptians, golden cell phones, and copycat killers. All this in a new town seemingly incapable of making even a single proper cup of tea.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Percy_Procrastinator_100Percy Procrastinator says…

Things I Didn’t Like: It has been two decades since I read the first Dirk Gently novels and as these stories do rely on them, I don’t think we were given enough background on several of the characters. I think having a summary of events up to now, or character dossiers would have helped jog my memory on a few things because several characters from the books are here. It’s obvious they had a story and I think reminding those who read it who they are, as well as enticing those who hadn’t read it to go find them and read them, would have served the story well.

One of the things Dirk does so well is make up stuff, based on his theory of the interconnectedness of all things. It’s not a love it or hate it, though, but taking each one at a time, rolling them around in my head, and deciding on its own merit if I like it or not. A few didn’t work for me, even though they were no different than any of the others.

Things I Liked: I really like Dirk and the whole gang. I even like the bad guys for the bad guys that they are. As much as Interconnectedness can grate, it was well done and came together nicely in the end, to a very satisfying conclusion.

There are also a lot of fun references to other things Adams wrote, and I’m sure I didn’t catch them all! It was fun to catch the pop culture references here and there but I never got a sense of the author “winking” at us at his cleverness, just that he worked them into the story well.

badge3v4My rating this time doesn’t reflect something that wasn’t done well but rather something that didn’t leave me longing for more. I think there are more graphic novels on the way but if this had been it, I would have been fine with that. Having a theory about interconnectedness, though, really made me think that there would be a much bigger, overarching plot across the graphic novels, and while that might still happen, I didn’t see the start of it here.

About Percy Procrastinator

I'll get to it

Posted on July 15, 2016, in 3-Okay, Graphic Novel, Paranormal Mystery, Percy Procrastinator, Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

