Starlight by Chelsea M. Campbell

Welcome to Saturday Shorts where we review short stories and novellas.  Today, Kat Mandu is reviewing the stand-alone novella, Starlight.

22925258Title:  Starlight
Author:  Chelsea M. Campbell
Series: stand-alone
Publish Date:  September 2, 2014
Genre:  YA Fantasy
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s Description: Adrienne Speck is the biggest loser in her high school, so she can hardly believe it when a magical boy falls from the heavens to grant her three wishes. He is cool, confident, and definitely popular-crowd material—everything Adrienne’s not. With his help, she has a chance to get everything she’s ever wanted: get kissed, get popular, and get a date for the upcoming dance.

But Adrienne discovers magic isn’t all it’s cracked up to be, and the road to popularity is paved with humiliation. To make her dreams come true, not only will she have to get the lead in the school play, ask out the most popular guy in school, and stand up to the current queen of popularity, but also keep her personal genie from trashing her room, dressing like a nerd, and revealing to her mom that he’s living in their attic. For someone who’s supposed to be helping her, he couldn’t be making her life any worse. That is, until she starts to fall for him.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

My thoughts on this are complicated.

The good – I loved the set up. A fallen star, coming down to earth to grant three wishes? That’s a great idea. The sugared aroma of Saiph is also interesting. I love Chelsea’s quirky little tidbits that are in all of her works and just give it that silly creativity. This novella was somewhat shorter than most and so I got through it fairly fast. The writing is spectacular as usual.

The so-so – I’m not a fan of continual teenage angst and although Adrienne gained some confidence near the end, she was mostly whiny and immature. I wasn’t very confident when I was growing up but damn, even I feel like I didn’t complain that much. I felt for the girl but I also wanted her to shut up and get a grip.

badge3v4I thought the romance was a bit forced though it was a sweet ending regardless. The dance scene was a bit rushed (I would have liked to have seen the outcome of her dumping Toby last second so he could go with Charlotte) and I wish I would have gotten more detail on Saiph’s real mission to earth – despite the story within the story.

Overall, not my favorite of the author’s work but I still liked it.

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on July 23, 2016, in 3-Okay, Contemporary Fantasy, Female, Kat Mandu, Review, Saturday Shorts, Young Adult and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

