The Devourers by Indra Das (Two 5-Star Reviews!)

The Devourers is an apt title for this novel. Not only will you devour it, but it will also consume you.

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

DevourersTitle:  The Devourers
Author:  Indra Das
Series: stand alone
Publish Date:  July 12, 2016
Genre:  Fantasy
Source: From the publisher at BEA16

Publisher’s Description: On a cool evening in Kolkata, India, beneath a full moon, as the whirling rhythms of traveling musicians fill the night, college professor Alok encounters a mysterious stranger with a bizarre confession and an extraordinary story. Tantalized by the man’s unfinished tale, Alok will do anything to hear its completion. So Alok agrees, at the stranger’s behest, to transcribe a collection of battered notebooks, weathered parchments, and once-living skins.

From these documents spills the chronicle of a race of people at once more than human yet kin to beasts, ruled by instincts and desires blood-deep and ages-old. The tale features a rough wanderer in seventeenth-century Mughal India who finds himself irrevocably drawn to a defiant woman—and destined to be torn asunder by two clashing worlds. With every passing chapter of beauty and brutality, Alok’s interest in the stranger grows and evolves into something darker and more urgent.

Shifting dreamlike between present and past with intoxicating language, visceral action, compelling characters, and stark emotion, The Devourers offers a reading experience quite unlike any other novel.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Luna_Lovebooks_100Luna Lovebooks says…

Well readers, this is a hard book for me to even begin to review. Not because I didn’t like it, but because this is truly a unique reading experience and an amazing book. It is hard to put into words all my thoughts on this novel in part because The Devourers deals with serious, often difficult topics, many of which are hard to talk about outside the realms of books let alone in a review; and partly because this book is such an extraordinary reading experience that I am afraid I will take some of that magic away from you.

But I will try not to take away the beauty that is The Devourers.

badge5v4The prose is beautiful. It weaves the reader in and out of the past and the lives of Fenrir, Alok, Cyrah, and Izrail. The detail deposits you in this world full of shape shifters and their prey. Like Frankenstein and other tales before and after it, The Devourers explores what it means to be a monster and what it means to be human. I believe that part of what makes this book so wonderful is that through the eyes and stories of shape shifters, we explore humanity, sexuality, love, friendship, loneliness, and everything in between.

While I have no issue with the topics discussed in this book, I feel that readers should be warned that the issues of rape, bisexuality, homosexuality, transgender and sometimes even cannibalism come into play at certain points. Again I have no qualms with these issues being discussed but they may turn some readers away.

I give this book 5 stars.

Agent_Annie_100Agent Annie says…

The Devourers is fantastic! I really enjoyed the half-werewolf mesmerizing, or “glamouring;” but, then I was also mesmerized by the stories, particularly by that of the human woman, Cyrah. Her ability to see inside of herself and understand her situation, not just the fact that she’d been raped by an outsider—an animal at that—and that she’d been an outcast her whole life, but that she never really belonged in society at all. Her choice to partner with Jevah-dan was a way in which she could experience some sort of freedom and belonging even though it was a very strange way to have community. She never really had a family, but you felt that her life was satisfactory and that she experienced some of that wild freedom inside of herself.

This book is so beautifully written. There’s a paragraph in the book that stands out as an example of Indra Das’s ability to craft the written word:

“I was tied to Gevaudan with my back against his, so Shah Jahan’s empire lay sprawled below me like a painted map feathered with dark forest and threaded with road, stretched across the rocky table of the earth. The lamp of the sun was still hidden behind the edge of that table, though its light had begun to creep up the vaulted tent of the heavens, weakening the pinholes of the stars.”

STUNNING!

I will warn readers that the book is also horrific. It is about Devourers, so what can you expect. It is graphic and cannibalistic. There are rape scenes and gay sex scenes, patricide, matricide and fratricide. If those things bother you, this isn’t the book for you, but if you can get past that horror and really dig into the way in which the relationships are built, this book is amazing. There are entanglements woven between all the characters that show how complicated families’ lives can be and how complicated communities are when inter-racial, nay, inter-species, “liaisons” result in off-spring.

badge5v4I give this book a five. I read it so quickly by the end because I wanted to see how it ended. I know I missed some of the beauty of the writing. This is definitely a book I would re-read and I would recommend that you read it right now.

If you like this book…

…you might try Shantarum by Gregory David Roberts, Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon, Frankenstein by Mary Shelley, Certain Dark Things by Silvia Moreno-Garcia, or Beyond the Woods: Fairy Tales Retold by Paula Guran.

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

About Luna Lovebooks

I love books! I also write in my spare time but due to a crazy life and millions of ideas, I have yet to finish something :/

Posted on July 29, 2016, in 5-Great, Agent Annie, Both Genders, Contemporary Fantasy, Luna Lovebooks, Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I haven’t seen too many reviews of this one yet, but wow, when I see two five star reviews, I take note. I actually have an ARC of this, but I haven’t had the chance to read it yet. I’ll bump it up now.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

