Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

One Book Two recently wrapped up its Read Along for Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. Many of us are reading this book for the second, or hundredth, time, and we’re still in love.

Harry PotterTitle: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
Author: J. K. Rowling
SeriesHarry Potter, Book 1
Publish Date: June 26, 1997
Genre: Children’s Fantasy/Literature
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s Description: Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy. He lives with his Uncle Vernon, Aunt Petunia and cousin Dudley, who are mean to him and make him sleep in a cupboard under the stairs. (Dudley, however, has two bedrooms, one to sleep in and one for all his toys and games.) Then Harry starts receiving mysterious letters and his life is changed forever. He is whisked away by a beetle-eyed giant of a man and enrolled at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The reason: Harry Potter is a wizard!

US Edition read by Jim Dale

British Edition read by Stephen Fry

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat_Mandu_100Kate Mandu says…

I’m pretty certain there’s nothing new I could say about Harry Potter that everyone else hasn’t said. This is a phenomenal series from start to finish because of the writing, characters, world-building, and its legacy. This seven-book masterpiece is not just for kids. Adults love it too. There will be generations to come who will enjoy Harry Potter and all its beauty.

I remember having my mother read it to me when I was ten years old. Yes, I could read, but when Mom pulled out that book and started mimicking all the character voices, I was drawn in immediately. It wasn’t until word of a movie got out though, that I became very interested in this. I read through the whole series (well, actually I think the seventh one had yet to come out if my memory serves me correctly) several times and absorbed everything I could. To say that I became obsessed was an understatement (I still have a poster mural at my old house, after all).

But can you blame me, really?

Harry Potter & The Sorcerer’s Stone is an epic debut. The writing is spot on, giving readers that wonderful imagery and descriptiveness. JK Rowling writes so simply, it’s stunning how it turns out. Each chapter is filled with a mixture of action and intrigue, not to mention characters you grow to love more with every book. She hints at things later to come and that mystery really benefits it – like at the end of this first book where Harry asks why Voldemort wanted to kill him.

Fans around the world now know why… but if you didn’t, wouldn’t you want to know? It’s like an entire cliffhanger in itself. And that’s one of the reasons I like JK Rowling’s works so well. That secretive suspense that lingers across every page.

Not to mention the remarkably memorable world she’s invented.

But I’ll see more of that world-building in future books and comment on it later – it really comes up more in the fourth and fifth ones, so I’ll save it for then. Let’s focus on book number one.

Some of us (cough, cough, as in me) can’t pick a book without choosing some favorites. So here are a couple of mine.

Favorite character – In the first book, Hagrid will always be my favorite. This gentle giant with a heart of gold rescued Harry from the Dursleys, introduced Harry to the wizarding world, and continues to provide friendship to Harry when he needs it most. His fascination with magical creatures often gets him into trouble but that’s what makes him exciting. I just love how much of a teddy bear Hagrid is.

Favorite scene – I really love the Halloween scene. I feel like it shows just how brave Ron and Harry are, for trying to save Hermione, even though it’s fueled a bit by guilt. For one, you get to see them fight against this huge troll and come out victorious, even if it’s sheer dumb luck 😉 And secondly, it ends up with our favorite trio becoming friends.

What are some of your favorites, blog readers? Did you enjoy this series as much as we have? Let us know in the comments – or better yet, join the group on Goodreads here: https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/177162-one-book-two-read-along-group for discussions, polls, and future giveaways.

Luna_Lovebooks_100Luna Lovebooks says…

Ah Harry Potter. I still remember my mom handing me the paperback version of Sorcerer’s Stone when I was 11. Even then I always had a book on me somewhere and she thought it would be right up my alley. She was right. From the very first page I got lost in the charming characters and stunning world. Re-reading it now, they are still just as charming and stunning but there is an innocence that makes me smile and takes me back. It is no wonder that even today the series is still popular with children and adults alike.

Invested_Ivana_100Invested Ivana says…

A long time ago, a friend suggested I listen to the Harry Potter audiobooks. Though I had been a big reader since I was a child, I hadn’t really gotten into audios. I had tried a few, but they were all abridged and not very exciting. So it was with some skepticism that I borrowed her CDs and gave it a try.

Thus began my love affair with unabridged audiobooks. The combination of a wonderfully beautiful story and the amazing voice talents of Jim Dale captured my heart and imagination.  I’ve been listening to audiobooks ever since.

Unlike Kat and Luna, I was an adult when Harry Potter wizzed into the world like a Golden Snitch. Since it was a kid’s book, it was a few years before I caught on to how wonderful a story it was. Harry Potter is so beautifully done, so imaginative, so rich and full a world down to the last detail, so full of themes that apply to children and adults alike, it is no surprise that it is the classic of our age.

Agent_Annie_100Agent Annie says…

All I can say is WOW! What talent J.K. Rowling has. I had only listened to the Harry Potter books when they first came out and was really impressed with the narrator Jim Dale.  This read-along gave me the opportunity to appreciate Rowling’s writing.  One of my favorite quotes is by Dumbledore, “Hogwarts! Before we begin our banquet, I would like to say a few words. And here they are: Nitwit! Blubber! Oddment! Tweak! Thank you!” What a great way to flesh out the character’s zaniness.  I bet if I were 8 years old, I would be repeating these words until my parents were sick (and tired) of them.  As an adult though, I am still captivated by the complexity of the characters and the plot.  There is no doubt in my mind that JK Rowling deserves every accolade she receives for her writing! I look forward to reading the rest of the Harry Potter series.

Our reviews in this series…

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on July 30, 2016, in 5-Great, Agent Annie, Contemporary Fantasy, Invested Ivana, Kat Mandu, Luna Lovebooks, Male, Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

Leave a Reply

