Sublime by Christina Lauren

Fans of ghostly romance that borders on insanity might love this. I would have given it a three if it wasn’t for that ending. But it has a very interesting premise.

sublmeTitle: Sublime
Author: Christina Lauren
Series: stand-alone
Publish Date: October 14, 2014
Genre: YA/NA Paranormal Romance
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionTrue love may mean certain death in a ghostly affair of risk and passion from New York Times bestselling duo Christina Lauren, authors of Beautiful Bastard. Tahereh Mafi, New York Times bestselling author of Shatter Me calls Sublime “a beautiful, haunting read”.

When Lucy walks out of a frozen forest, wearing only a silk dress and sandals, she isn’t sure how she got there. But when she sees Colin, she knows for sure that she’s here for him.

Colin has never been captivated by a girl the way he is by Lucy. With each passing day their lives intertwine, and even as Lucy begins to remember more of her life—and her death—neither of them is willing to give up what they have, no matter how impossible it is. And when Colin finds a way to physically be with Lucy, taking himself to the brink of death where his reality and Lucy’s overlap, the joy of being together for those brief stolen moments drowns out everything in the outside world. But some lines weren’t meant to be crossed…

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

Okay, so good first.

The plot is great. I like the idea that Colin isn’t “special” and everyone can see the ghosts but choose not to. I like that Lucy looks differently to Colin but it was never explained why. I love the Walker type of world and the descriptions the authors use to describe the reflective underwater dimension. I wasn’t a fan of the writing style but that’s just a thing of mine, there’s nothing wrong with the actual writing.

Colin is adorable, though reckless. You can tell he may be a bit ragged around the edges but he’s a genuinely sweet guy. Lucy is not particularly a character I’m drawn to but I don’t dislike her. These characters are very real and their passion feels very real.

And those things are important to me…but there are other things that just didn’t do it for me.

First off – nothing is ever really answered. Readers get a bunch of questions as they go along – why Lucy’s there, why she looks different to Colin and why she appears to be like a demon to everyone else, why she appears to be solid and real-looking. There are no answers and it was frustrating.

Also, I really don’t think this should be labeled as young adult. Yes, the characters are teens and yes, the romance doesn’t get descriptive. But there is a LOT of sexual content and language. I was thinking this was more along the lines of New Adult. Characters getting to know one another romantically and spiritually and individually. But I’m no editor/marketer, so who am I to judge?

The story dragged at times even though days or weeks would go by very fast in the actual story. I found that even though I liked the idea behind it, it didn’t draw me in enough to read it in one sitting or keep going back to it. There were times I was reading and I just kept thinking, “Oh, I can stop here” and I hate feeling like I can think that.

And finally, that ending. Very rushed and sudden. Colin’s personality and care for the rest of the people around him just goes out the window. Lucy’s reaction is just about as weird as the rest of her 50/50 hesitation-kind-of-thinking. And maybe I missed something along the way, but I thought something completely different was going to happen than what actually did. I’m not upset by the turnaround itself but more of how it turned out.

badge2v4This just wasn’t for me but I’m certain other people could enjoy it. Like I said, it was not a bad book. Just not what I expected.

If you like this book…

…you might try The Mediator series by Meg Cabot; Mind of the Phoenix by Jamie McLachlan; Mayday by Jonathan Friesen.

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on August 12, 2016, in 2-Meh, Kat Mandu, Paranormal Romance, Review, Young Adult and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

