Aces Wilde by Jenn Stark

I love this series!  Sara Wilde is back and stirring up more trouble in Book 5 of the Immortal Vegas series! Only this time, she’s getting closer to playing with a full deck!

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Aces WildeTitleAces Wilde
AuthorJenn Stark
SeriesImmortal Vegas Book 05
Publish Date: August 29th, 2016
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Source: provided by the author

Publisher’s DescriptionNever play the game without an Ace up your sleeve.

During her years of finding and selling artifacts on the arcane black market, Tarot reader Sara Wilde has made a bona fide killing. Now, as the recently appointed head of an ancient Connected syndicate, she’s forced to take a truly deadly role in the war on magic.

Within the House of Swords, every blade cuts deep. Usurpers and claimants attack from all sides, while the Magician’s insidious pull on Sara becomes ever more twisted and beguiling. As she struggles to strengthen her position and manage her new, unwieldy abilities, Sara discovers her greatest challenge yet: a master warrior determined to deliver the syndicate and everyone it protects to its mortal enemy.
Bolstered by an unexpected Ace and a mystical sword, and faced with a round-the-world race to outmaneuver friends and foes alike, Sara’s future balances on a merciless edge.

The cards can cut both ways when you play ACES WILDE.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Invested_Ivana_100Invested Ivana says…

The Minor Arcana is finally coming into play.  At the end of the last book, Sara discovered that there are four houses—those of swords, pents, cups, and wands—run by mortals, who are supposed to be the House of Representatives to the Major Arcana’s Senate. But they haven’t been heard of for a thousand years or more… until now.

badge4v4And of course, Sara has been made the head of one of them, the House of Swords. But Sara doesn’t fight with swords; she fights with guns and Tarot cards. How is she going to survive the inevitable challenges to her leadership when those challenges are decided by sword fight? Find a magical sword, of course. Finding magical artifacts is what Sarah does. 😉

Like all the novels in this series, I ate this one up like candy. I love the characters and the adventure and all the crazy situations Sara gets herself into. The Immortal Vegas series is fun urban fantasy at its finest! 4.5.

Nervous_Nellie_100Nervous Nellie says…

Nothing like being the new kid at school who’d somehow pissed off the Mafia.

or

He’d hung me out to dry so many times, my soul was starting to bleach out.

BOOM! Yeah! This is an urban fantasy, some violence, a little kissing, but so full of adventure I could not put it down.

I swear to you that this author writes so well that I feel like I’m living Sara Wilde’s life.  I can feel the over arc of the series building and if it doesn’t end with a huge EXPLOSION!! I will be surprised.

The characters in this series are so vivid that I had more than once stop and remind myself that Armaeus the Magician of the Arcana Council is really just a character and I cannot go and whoop his butt on behalf Sara.  Not that she can’t fight her own fights, but still…geez.  What a jerk.  I will backpedal a little here, however, because without Armaeus, there would be no one that I would love to hate.

Sara is dealt with some pretty serious self thinking issues in this book.  Is she really the one meant to do the bloody hand to hand fighting in this war to save the Connected children or would she do more good actually taking care of the Connected children like Father Jerome?  She also has the House of Swords to manage.  Is she really supposed to be the leader of this House of the minor Arcana?  The badge4v4Council tells her something, Father Jerome begs her to reconsider her place in the war and Armaeus is just aloof and seemingly uncaring.  But is he…really?

I thought that Stark had thrown just about everything at Sara and guess what?  I was so wrong.  The ending isn’t a cliffhanger, but it’s a ‘whoa’ moment all it’s own.  C’mon, Jenn, you are gonna give me a heart attack!!

Our reviews in this series…

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

About Invested Ivana

I'm currently a freelance line editor, a book blogger at One Book Two, and lifetime reader. I like geeky things. All opinions expressed on this site are my own and do not reflect the opinions of Red Adept Editing or any of my clients, the other reviewers on this site, or this site as a whole.

Posted on August 29, 2016, in 4-Good, Invested Ivana, Nervous Nellie, Review, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

