Heartborn by Terry Maggert + Giveaway!

This beautiful YA novel spans time and hearts to convey a message of love and sacrifice. And to celebrate its release tomorrow, the author is giving away a $25 gift certificate to Amazon and an electronic copy of any one of his other books.  Be sure to enter at Rafflecopter.

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

HeartbornTitleHeartborn
AuthorTerry Maggert
Series: no name yet, but it will be a series
Publish Date: September 01, 2016
Genre: YA Fantasy
Source: Provided by the author

Publisher’s Description: Her guardian angel was pushed.

Keiron was never meant to be anything other than a hero. Born high above in a place of war and deception, he is Heartborn, a being of purity and goodness in a place where there violence and deceit are just around every corner.

His disappearance will spark a war he cannot see, for Keiron has pierced the light of days to save a girl he has never met, for reasons he cannot understand. Livvy Foster is seventeen, brave, and broken. With half a heart, she bears the scars of a lifetime of pain and little hope of survival.

Until Keiron arrives.

In the middle of a brewing war and Livvy’s failing heart, Keiron will risk everything for Livvy, because a Heartborn’s life can only end in one way: Sacrifice.

Fall with Livvy and Keiron as they seek the truth about her heart, and his power, and what it means to love someone who will give their very life to save you.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Invested_Ivana_100Invested Ivana says…

As you may know if you read this blog often, I do not prefer to read YA. Kat tells me I have some inaccurate stereotypes of what young adult literature is — whiny, overdramatic highschoolers bitching because life isn’t fair, making poor choices, and mooning over the football captain. I did not have a good time in high school and I do not wish to relive it in my mid-40s, thank you very much.

So, let me just say that Heartborn does NOT fit my stereotype of YA. Though the protagonists are young, we don’t see them in school (thank goodness!) and they are not whining about their circumstances at all; in fact, they are being incredibly brave and mature—something many adults could learn from.

For much of the book, there appear to be two storylines. One is set in a fantasy world in the sky where the ruling body is brutal, selfish, and concerned more with its own power than the welfare of its citizens (I know, art imitating life, right?). This storyline follows characters who are planning to overthrow this ruling body so its citizens may be free.

The other storyline follows Livvy, a young girl in a world like our own who works in a library, makes friends with her co-worker and the library regulars, and falls in love with a cute patron. Livvy has half a heart, or a heart condition that severely limits her ability to participate in many of the activities of everyday life. Livvy is no whiner, though.  She does what’s necessary to cope with her condition, but she isn’t going to let any opportunity to really live pass her by.

I enjoyed both storylines, but the way they come together confused me at first. I did NOT expect it and, I’ll be honest, my brain had to take a step back and look at the whole story from a completely new angle after the reveal. The reread value of this book will be pretty good; once you “get it,” there are metaphors and allusions and other “Easter eggs” to find.

And I have to take a minute to talk about this cover.  OMG, it’s amazing! Staci Hart, of Quirky Bird, should win some awards for this cover.

badge3v4I’m pretty impressed with Heartborn and am happy to find that all YA books aren’t what I imagine. I struggled to set aside my linear, literal thinking for this book. If you know going in that you’ll have to do the same, or you aren’t burdened with that limitation in the first place, I think you’ll find this book very engaging.

Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

I had a hard time deciding what to rate this.

On the one hand, the writing is lovely and descriptive, though sometimes it goes a bit over the top. For the most part I enjoyed the lushness of the setting and introductions to the characters and both worlds that are introduced in this book. There are a couple of pronouns that make it hard to tell who’s narrating, especially in fight scenes towards the end, but nothing that distracts me from the actual story.

On the other hand, as much as I enjoyed the build-up of the world, character, and plotlines, the execution of the ending really fell short with me. I didn’t know what happened, nor did I understand why the characters were doing what they were doing. We had a classic scenario of 2+2 = 17. Something was missing and it was something big, so it really drew away from what the story was trying to say.

I also didn’t find myself relating to any of the characters because we knew so little about their roles in the story. Then there was this beautiful world erected – but it wasn’t explained very well. The ending came and it sucked in all of that world-building and just vanished. Some of the character names were forgotten too easily; there were creatures that weren’t given a description, so you had to concoct your own; and although it was a good attempt at coalescing two very different storylines together, it mostly failed when it mattered most.

badge3v4If I could, I’d give it a 2.5 because even though I enjoyed most of what I read, the rest didn’t come together for me. I don’t feel like it’ll be something I pick up again because my brain hurts from thinking too hard about what the author was trying to convey. But then again, it started out super cool with its new take on angels who can create magic and wield swords.

So I’ll settle for a three and hope others are less confused than I am.

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

About Invested Ivana

I'm currently a freelance line editor, a book blogger at One Book Two, and lifetime reader. I like geeky things. All opinions expressed on this site are my own and do not reflect the opinions of Red Adept Editing or any of my clients, the other reviewers on this site, or this site as a whole.

Posted on August 31, 2016, in 4-Good, Both Genders, Dystopian/Post-Apocalyptic, Invested Ivana, Kat Mandu, Review, Young Adult and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

