Eclipse by Cate Tiernan

An evil wave of dark magick capable of destroying entire cities and all life within it is hunting Morgan. She has to team up with Hunter, his recently discovered father, and half-witch Alisa to stop it from claiming anyone else she loves.

EclipseTitleEclipse
Author:  Cate Tiernan
SeriesSweep Book 12
Publish Date:  June 10, 2002
Genre:  YA Fantasy
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionEverything around me seems strange and dark.
I am not who I thought I was.

Danger is coming; I know this now.
Everything I believed about my family is a lie.

I can stop this. But I can’t do it alone.
How can I live with this knowledge?

I need help….
I need help….

Morgan knows that a dark wave of destruction is on its way. Everyone she loves is in jeopardy. So Morgan, Hunter, and a surprising new ally join together to fight a battle that will test their powers more than any of them can imagine. In this struggle of good versus evil, bright magick versus dark, who will survive to tell the tale?

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

The spellcrafting is so much more complicated in this book compared to the others. It’s kind of like reading about someone going up against their greatest enemy—knowing the territory inside out, which weaknesses to exploit, how to catch your opponent off guard. It’s a great battle of good versus evil. The action of the scene is nice, but after it’s all over, the happy ending is a bit too… anticlimactic? I didn’t like the abrupt feeling of, “Holy shit, it’s over.” It just seemed too bleh after all that.

This book is the first in the series narrated by two characters at once. Morgan, I can handle. Alisa I cannot. The fourteen-year-old just drives me batty. There’s a scene where she walks into Morgan’s room while Morgan is “resting” to ask a question. She calls out for Morgan and then wonders how Morgan knew she was there without opening her eyes to see her. Alisa angrily blames it on Morgan’s “scary witch powers.” No, dumb ass. You walked into the room and said her name. Of course she knew it was you because she recognized your voice! Oi vey.

And Alisa’s turn-around is ridiculous. She goes from being freaked out enough to send a letter to the government about witchcraft to, “oh, okay, sure I’ll do a spell even though I might die.” Really? Finding out you are half-witch made you realize you weren’t very competent and that witchcraft isn’t so bad? Ugh, I’ve always disliked hearing from Alisa.

I like the magick. I love how the characters are feeling the effects of the dark wave; it shows blood witches tend to have more vulnerabilities than I originally thought. I like that Daniel Niall gets to punch Ciaran and that Morgan turns out to be stronger than her biological father. I do wish Killian stayed longer, he is one of my favorite characters. *le sigh*

badge3v4Over all, a pretty good book. But be warned, Alisa is the big turn off here.

Books in this series…

Links will become active as reviews are posted.

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on September 1, 2016, in 3-Okay, Contemporary Fantasy, Female, Kat Mandu, Review, Young Adult and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

