Catch and Neutralize by Chris Grams

When you think your wife is cheating on you—and even worse, trying to kill you—what’s a guy supposed to do? Mark decides to follow Angie and set her up. But the real truth lurks just around the corner and that could kill Mark faster than his wife could.

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

catch-and-neutralizeTitleCatch and Neutralize
AuthorChris Grams
Series: stand-alone
Publish Date: Sept. 14, 2016
Genre: Thriller/Suspense
Source: Provided by the author

Publisher’s DescriptionWhat if you joined a secret society of women hunting the world’s worst criminals?
Could you push yourself to do the unthinkable?

What if you couldn’t tell anyone about your activities?
Could you hide behind all the lies?

What if your husband suspected you were having an affair?
What if he followed you on your most dangerous assignment, unarmed and unaware?
Could you keep him safe?

Phalanges “Angie” Carter is a member of a women-controlled secret society designed to hunt down notorious criminals. Blessed with long golden locks and a bikini-model body, Angie’s been at the shallow end of The Institute’s missions. She’s fed up with being the pretty faced flirt used to delay bad guys. She’s had enough of being pushed to the side while other agents get the risky, more important assignments.

Finally, Angie’s time of waiting for a challenge has ended. Her new assignment: Catch & Neutralize a group of killers involved in drugs, torture, and everything in-between. Experts at eluding the authorities, these thugs will stop at nothing to take down the beauty getting in their way – if they can find her.

Who are they? The hard part is figuring out the identity of these villains. Until then, no one is in the clear. No one can be trusted. Angie must dig deep to prove she can Catch & Neutralize these uncatchable criminals before The Institute’s alarm signifies failure…

Or something much worse.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

Fellow readers, I must admit when I first read the summary for this – about a woman who secretly hunted down criminals and her last name happened to be Carter – I couldn’t help it. I was hurled into this world where I assumed the story was along the lines of Marvel’s Agent Carter.

I was proved wrong, both sadly and yet, I’m impressed by the idea regardless. Angie and Mark, as well as several other characters, all have something up their sleeves in this story about love, hate, and justice. For review purposes, I’ll be reverting to the what I liked vs. what I didn’t set up.

What I liked: I really enjoying hearing the perspectives of multiple characters, mostly because you get to hear a side to their story that you wouldn’t otherwise. It’s fun for thrillers. And although Mark was kind of annoying and paranoid throughout most of the book, I enjoyed a lot of the characters who told the story. The author did an excellent job of portraying each as individuals, without falling to the prospect of having them be too similar.

She also did a great job of an ending, with a set up that kept you guessing until the end, which I’ll admit, was pretty explosive. However, it does happen rather quickly, so pay close attention or you’ll miss something along the way.

What I didn’t like: The setup dragged at times, so I was really, REALLY hoping for that good ending because I’ve seen too many books with really long set ups that don’t come together at the end. Although I wasn’t disappointed, getting to the end was a long and sometimes painful process. Also, I know that this book was given to me as an ARC but I found quite a few spelling and grammar mistakes that kind of distracted me from it.

badge3v4The thing that bugged me the most was the lack of romance. There are SOOOO MANY innuendos in the entire thing that I was amazed to find that there was little to no romantic scenes. I guess I’m in the mindset that if you’re setting up so many hints that there’s romance to come, you’d better deliver. And this really failed at this unfortunately. I was just expecting more from all those juicy one-liners. Even the first line has something to do with sex. So when it never REALLY happened, I was like all sad and stuff.

Overall, I enjoyed it, so I give it a three rating.

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on September 15, 2016, in 3-Okay, Female, Kat Mandu, Review, Thriller/Suspense and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

