Written in Hell by Jason Helford

What do you do when the devil has you murdered just because she wants you down in her realm for one specific purpose? And that purpose is to write the sequel to a book that the people in hell seem to love? Well, you’d probably better write that book! However, some people just can’t figure that out…

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Written in HellTitle: Written in Hell
Author: Jason Helford
Series: stand-alone
Publish Date: January 5th 2014
Genre: Contemporary Fantasy
Source: Provided by the Author

Publisher’s DescriptionWritten in Hell follows writer Nathanial Blovey on his strange and perilous adventures through Hell. Nathaniel’s book, a collection of lewd tales set in the old west, failed miserably, prematurely ending his career; however, unbeknownst to him, his stories had become a huge success in Hell. The Devil decides to send him a one-way invitation to her realm, to write for her, and to keep his damned fans happy. There is only one problem: he has writer’s block. With a firm deadline imposed by the Devil herself, Nate has to find a way to keep the most terrible of bosses happy, and survive his trip through Hell. While there is no fire and brimstone, and a burgeoning civilization is growing, Hell is still a very dangerous place for a soft man like Nathaniel.

Written in Hell is a creepy, fun and thought-provoking journey through Hell, with a guide who can’t help but anger people everywhere he goes. It takes you through a new and creative re-imagining of Hell.

Possible spoilers ahead.


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

In this sin-provoking book, Nate Blovey gets viciously murdered and sent straight to hell. Not that it’s a surprise – the guy’s a very pompous asshole with a lot of hypocritical issues.

But the devil has plans for Nate. His book, a western erotica, is quite popular with citizens in hell. In fact, as he discovers, there are entire towns based off the settings in his book, and even plays that people put on from scenes in it. Very vivid scenes, might I add. Either way, Nate’s writing is getting around and the denizens of hell are eager to show it off to the author himself.

Well, until they meet the guy.

Nate discovers that he doesn’t want to write the book and so he spends most of his time getting into trouble – even if it’s by accident – and essentially pissing a whole bunch of people off. And you gotta realize, these people are in hell. So they’re not exactly good people. More often than not, Nate gets threatened, beat up, and insulted. A lot.

Adding to his queasiness about the state of thing, Nate is petrified of pretty much everything, especially the devil, who expresses her distaste about her lack of a new book in violent and scary ways. You’d think that Nate would catch a hint and write the book.

Alas, he doesn’t And that’s when things get really bad. But I’m not going to spoil the ending for you.

badge4v4I really got into this at first, right off the bat when Nate was getting murdered and first sent to hell. The descriptions throughout the story are vivid, though some of the scenes where Nate just does what he does are rather repetitive. I enjoy the world-building and multitude of characters, though I would have appreciated a few more of those power-hungry villains in hell rather than just ones who seem to have the same affliction: cagey drunkards looking for a fight who tend to have bad vocabulary. Surely we could have thrown some more political assholes into the mix? I feel like they deserve a special place in hell too sometimes.

Recommended for fans of Kurt Vonnegut and Tom Robbins.

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Advertisements

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on September 16, 2016, in 4-Good, Contemporary Fantasy, Kat Mandu, Male, Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: