The Purloined Poodle by Kevin Hearne

Welcome to Saturday Shorts. A poodle has been kid—, er, dognapped, and Oberon will not stand for that! Told from Oberon’s point of view, this book is a hilarious short story about a mystery that Atticus and Oberon have together. Will Oberon, and his assistant Atticus, be able to rescue the poodle before something bad happens? And will Oberon be able to earn the sausages Atticus has promised if they find the poodle? It’s a fun read that answers those questions!

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Purloined PoodleTitleOberon’s Meaty Mysteries: The Purloined Poodle
AuthorKevin Hearne
SeriesIron Druid Chronicles, Book 8.5
Publish Date: September 30, 2016
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Source: Netgalley

Publisher’s Description: Thanks to his relationship with the ancient Druid Atticus O’Sullivan, Oberon the Irish wolfhound knows trouble when he smells it—and furthermore, he knows he can handle it.

When he discovers that a prizewinning poodle has been abducted in Eugene, Oregon, he learns that it’s part of a rash of hound abductions all over the Pacific Northwest. Since the police aren’t too worried about dogs they assume have run away, Oberon knows it’s up to him to track down those hounds and reunite them with their humans. For justice! And gravy!

Engaging the services of his faithful Druid, Oberon must travel throughout Oregon and Washington to question a man with a huge salami, thwart the plans of diabolical squirrels, and avoid, at all costs, a fight with a great big bear.

But if he’s going to solve the case of the Purloined Poodle, Oberon will have to recruit the help of a Boston terrier named Starbuck, survive the vegetables in a hipster pot pie, and firmly refuse to be distracted by fire hydrants and rabbits hiding in the rose bushes.

At the end of the day, will it be a sad bowl of dry kibble for the world’s finest hound detective, or will everything be coming up sirloins?

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Percy_Procrastinator_100Percy Procrastinator says…

What I Didn’t Like: I can’t think of anything.

What I Liked: This was a fun, quick mystery that I really enjoyed reading. Oberon’s point of view is just so much fun to read. I do get Oberon’s Shenanigans, his monthly newsletter, so had some idea how it would go. I was not disappointed. Not only do we get a fun mystery, but we also learn why it would be better if everyone greeted each other with butt-sniffs and which meats are the best! And it’s just fun!

From a bigger picture perspective, this is a good story on why Atticus doesn’t get involved in things all of the time. It’s very difficult to explain your druidic powers to the authorities, much less have to explain them in a court! Atticus has to balance out what he tells the detective in charge as well as the owners, so that he doesn’t scare them off giving him the information he needs to help rescue the Purloined Poodle.

badge5v4A strong five. In fact, now that we have eight books, and a few short stories, in this series, I think this would be a strong contender as a short story to get new people hooked into the series. It’s self contained and while it does give away a few things from the series, I don’t think that what it gives away is that surprising. Indeed, having the perspective might make a few early novels be more fun.

Invested_Ivana_100Invested Ivana says…

I just LOVE Kevin Hearne. Can I say that? Literary references, historical references, RPG references, sci-fi TV show references. Specific episodes, even, like the X-files episode with Big Mike. I just want to hug this guy and call him family.

Yes, all those references are made in The Purloined Poodle, in addition to it being a great mystery. Oberon, Atticus’s Irish Wolfhound and comic sidekick, gets his own story from his own point of view, and it’s wonderfully done. From the inaccurate sense of time to the obsession with meat to the ongoing battle with squirrels and other distractions, we really get a sense of what it’s like to be Oberon in Atticus’s world.

badge5v4The book had me laughing the entire time; but I cannot WAIT for the audio! I feel sorry for Luke Daniels, as voicing Oberon for a whole novella has got to kill his voice for a few days. But OMG it is going to be so epic. 🙂

Lots and lots of geeky love for this awesome novella.

Nervous Nellie says…

This is a quick novella starring Oberon and his druid, Atticus.  Oberon wants to solve the mystery of Nervous_Nellie_100who is dog napping so many champion dogs.  Their people seem very distressed and Oberon just wants to be Sherlock Holmes complete with the hat and pipe.

Atticus cheats at solving this mystery by using his transportation skills and his ability to talk to dogs.

This was a fun murder mystery, dognapping conspiracy with riotous narration by Oberon himself.

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Save

About Invested Ivana

I read fiction for entertainment and to escape my own world; so, I don’t want to read about “real” things. I read non-fiction to learn and be inspired. For the last several years, I’ve read mostly Urban Fantasy and other things supernatural. I also enjoy Historical Fiction. I love books that go deep into characters and worlds. I really want to know the characters, to be able to invest emotionally in them and their challenges. I like learning about cultures, so understanding the world is important to me as well.

Posted on September 24, 2016, in 5-Great, Invested Ivana, Male, Percy Procrastinator, Review, Saturday Shorts, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. OOoh nice set of reviews! I’m once again behind in this series. I think I left off when it switched to hardcovers, so I need to start there, but this novella sounds like fun! I love Oberon and his doggy wisdom! Having a novella from hims should be good times all around! Great set of reviews!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t wait to read this one! I’m woefully behind on the main series though, so hopefully I won’t be too lost when I start this. A book from Oberon’s POV is such an amazing idea though, I must say 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. For the most part, you don’t need to be up to date on the stores to enjoy this novella. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

