Fallen by Lauren Kate

Luce has a secret that even she doesn’t know!

FallenTitle: Fallen
Author:  Lauren Kate
Series: Fallen Book 01
Publish Date: December 8, 2009
Genre: YA Paranormal Romance
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionThere’s something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.

Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price’s attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah. He’s the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.

Even Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce – he goes out of his way to make that very clear. But she can’t let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, Luce has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret…even if it kills her.

Dangerously exciting and darkly romantic, FALLEN is a page-turning thriller and the ultimate love story.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Luna_Lovebooks_100Luna Lovebooks says…

Likes: The characters are well rounded. Even the secondary characters have their own stories and vibrant personalities that make them seem central to Luce’s story. I also like that there is a darkness about Cam and Daniel without them actually being dangerous/evil. There are some nice twists that keep you interested.

badge5v4Dislikes: Fallen is a bit slow at first but it picks up amazingly fast towards the end. There are many unanswered questions but it is the first book in a series so hopefully these will be answered in the future novels.

Overall I give this book 5 stars.

Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

Beautiful writing. I love books like this one that have such great visuals. There’s a quote I liked that describes something about driving with the windows down. It goes to show how descriptive the scenes are that you can follow and see everything that’s happening, as well as let your other senses roam as well. That smell of driving with the windows down is one of my favorite metaphors. I love that Ms. Kate can describe a kiss for several pages, an embrace that is passionate and beautiful. The writing was one of the things I really enjoyed about the debut of this series.

However, Luce is a little much for me. She has very strange priorities. I thought her stalker phase was humorous at first but then I found it annoying. I like how the other characters within the story all said she didn’t understand things, which is true. But the readers weren’t getting much either so there’s much more for us to understand too and that becomes frustrating.

I kind of kept waiting for more action scenes. After reading a bunch of action-packed YAs previous, I realized that I anticipated a lot more supernatural warfare instead of the day-to-day kind of stuff. I knew it would be different – more of a love story, but I hope the action picks up now that Luce knows she’ll be fighting and that we’ll see her in the middle of battle rather than on the sidelines. I mean, I think I got too absorbed in Supernatural at the same time, so I was thinking, “ooh, angels vs. demons” and what I got was a very whiny sixteen-year-old at a boarding school, dealing with a love triangle and bullies.

I mentioned before that it was pretty easy to tell who was on what side—Daniel, Gabbe, Arriane all versus Cam. I figured out that she’d have to choose between those two right off the bat. I was surprised to find that Molly was on the opposite side though. From how often she was trying to break them apart, I assumed she was trying to get on Daniel’s side. It got a little predictable in some points. Others, I was screaming at Luce and Daniel to just get over themselves and kiss already. Part of the reason I continued to read so much of it anyway. I wanted to see them get together.

badge3v4Daniel is definitely my favorite character. Enigmatic, a little bit flighty, romantic, and brooding loneliness. He’s my second favorite personality type (after cocky, perverted, and sometimes sweet characters). His points of view in both the prologue and the epilogue were enticing and metaphorical.

If you like this book…

…you might try Halo series by Alexandra Adornetto, Hush, Hush series by Becca Fitzpatrick, Forbidden by Syrie James.

About Luna Lovebooks

I love books! I also write in my spare time but due to a crazy life and millions of ideas, I have yet to finish something :/

Posted on October 6, 2016, in 3-Okay, 5-Great, Luna Lovebooks, Paranormal Romance, Review, Young Adult and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Kat, I totally agree with your review. It would be a 3 from me too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

