Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

An ancient prophecy, a Dark Lord on the rise, and a government doing everything in its power to stop Harry Potter and Albus Dumbledore from revealing the truth. In JK Rowling’s fifth book, Harry Potter and The Order of the Phoenix, things begin to take a much darker turn for Harry and his friends – who find themselves the unwilling pawns in an ultimate game of wizard chess

harry-potter-and-the-order-of-the-phoenixTitle: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Author: J.K. Rowling
Series: Harry Potter Book 5
Publish Date: June 1, 2003
Genre: Children’s Fantasy
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s Description: Harry Potter is due to start his fifth year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. His best friends Ron and Hermione have been very secretive all summer and he is desperate to get back to school and find out what has been going on. However, what Harry discovers is far more devastating than he could ever have expected…

Suspense, secrets and thrilling action from the pen of J.K. Rowling ensure an electrifying adventure that is impossible to put down.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

You may be surprised to know that even though I’m rating this a five (because JK Rowling is brilliant and I can’t think of giving her work anything less just because I’m not fond of certain things) that this is my least favorite Harry Potter novel. That being said, it’s amazing. But there’s only so much angry Harry that I can take before he becomes too much for me.

If you’re following our One Book Two Goodreads group discussion, you’ll know that I have a hard time with Harry pushing everyone away and making himself incredibly vulnerable to Voldemort at the worst time possible. Personally, if I knew my loved ones were in danger, not to mention I was in danger, I’d want to surround myself with them every step of the way, rather than be angry and anti-social. Isolating yourself doesn’t always protect them, in fact, if I was the bad guy and I knew Harry was trying to isolate himself and run away, I’d probably kill everyone he loved just to lure him back. But I guess that’s just the way my brain works. I’d rather die protecting the ones I care about over getting away from everyone. For me, Harry was just a bit too angsty and it was rough getting through some of his dark thoughts.

But he’s also fifteen. And dealing with a wizard world who doesn’t want to believe Voldemort is back, really EVIL teachers and ministry members, plus, the actual threat of Voldemort on his doorstep. And now he knows that he’s gotta be the one to kill Voldemort – or else die himself (not that we don’t know what actually happens, but let’s say for good sport we don’t, wink wink).

I really enjoyed everything else. This book really gives you a glimpse into the workings of the ministry and it’s fascinating. Here are some of my usual favorites!

Favorite character – Poor Sirius, trapped in his childhood home and feeling like he is unable to assist the Order in any way. It was sad to see him fade away though at least he was able to get out and go down fighting. Also, I really love Luna.

Favorite scene – I really love all of the DA scenes, because Harry seems happy to do something useful. He feels in charge of things and that really leaves an impact on him. Plus, when Dumbledore escapes with Fawkes, I giggle. “Dumbledore’s got style!”

Favorite new creature – The thestrals! Creepy though they are, I feel like these somewhat invisible creatures are fun and really take the spotlight.

Luna_Lovebooks_100Luna Lovebooks says…

True confession time (and spoiler ahead): If you have read my introduction, you know that I love the truly magical books—the books that stay with you long after you put it back on the shelf, the books that change you (for better or worse). For me this series does just that. I cried my eyes out when Sirius died. Enough so that my dad asked what was wrong, then rolled his eyes when I told him – he is such a practical fairy. I was so engrossed in Harry’s world that the loss of Sirius affected me just as much as Harry. This is a book and series that will make you laugh, cry, and feel sorrow and outrage.

As far as the movie goes…well, it was better than The Goblet of Fire, but I still feel that they left out the little things that make the book so magical. But it was fairly close to the story in my opinion.

Invested_Ivana_100Invested Ivana says…

Listening to this book, I feel a VISCERAL hatred for Umbridge. I can’t think of any other book villian that makes me react so physically. She’s HORRIBLE. Between her, Snape, Mr. Filch, and the Death Eathers, this series depicts some adults who are really horrible to children. I don’t think I realized this when I first read this series, but now that I’m older, it stands out quite starkly. It’s a bit disturbing when you really think about it, but true to the Grimm standard, I guess. Children don’t always get protected and cherished in Harry’s world or in ours.

Harry is in that adolescent phase where he is not quite a child and not quite an adult. He’s had to deal with some very bad things thus far in his life, and feels as though he’s earned some adult respect. Yet the adults around him still view him as a child and are trying to keep him safe. This is a frustrating time for any adolescent and his or her parents, let alone those who are dealing with such terrible threats. I suppose this is where the series transitions from Middle Grade to YA.

One thing that bothered me a lot in this read through is the mirror Sirius gives Harry. Sirius doesn’t tell Harry what it does, and Harry never opens it while Sirius is alive. So much of the story wouldn’t have happened if Harry had just used the mirror. What was the point of the mirror in the story? Why was it even mentioned? I don’t understand the purpose of the mirror except regret. Although I suppose it supports the theme that failing to share information, even with children, can have disastrous results.

Much like the mirror, the worst of the story might not have happened if Dumbledore had just communicated with Harry, just given him a little credit for being mature. This also is a big theme of the book, and once I knew to look for it, I felt Harry’s frustration.

Though it sounds as if I don’t love the book, that’s not true. Some of the things I love are the introduction of Luna Lovegood, the DA club, Harry’s interview with The Quibbler, and Nevil becoming more involved in the story. I LOVE that the Hogwarts teachers team up with Peeves against Umbridge. As always, Rowling writes such a deep, wonderful story that I can find new experiences on every reread.

Agent_Annie_100Agent Annie says…

HP5 was the one book I was dreading when I agreed to the read-along. I remember hating this book. However, each time I put it down and checked how far along I’d come, I was surprised that it was still really good. Even with 10 hours of the almost hours 40 hours of the narrative to go, I was still enjoying the story. I really liked the comeuppance that Umbrage finally got. Served her RIGHT. I will say that the explanation Dumbledore gave for his actions and keeping Harry in the dark still have me a bit confused. I don’t know if the author wanted to keep us confused in order to mirror Harry’s uncertainty or if she wasn’t able to convey the complexity of the choices Dumbledore made. I still think the Harry Potter series is really good and the narration just makes it that much stronger. 

Our reviews in this series…

About Invested Ivana

I'm currently a freelance line editor, a book blogger at One Book Two, and lifetime reader. I like geeky things. All opinions expressed on this site are my own and do not reflect the opinions of Red Adept Editing or any of my clients, the other reviewers on this site, or this site as a whole.

Posted on October 12, 2016, in 5-Great, Agent Annie, Contemporary Fantasy, Invested Ivana, Kat Mandu, Luna Lovebooks, Middle Grade, Review, Young Adult and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

Leave a Reply

