Torment by Lauren Kate

How many lives do you need to live before you find someone worth dying for?

TormentTitle:  Torment
Author:  Lauren Kate
SeriesFallen Book 02
Publish Date:  September 28, 2010
Genre:  YA Fantasy
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionHell on earth.

That’s what it’s like for Luce to be apart from her fallen angel boyfriend, Daniel.

It took them an eternity to find one another, but now he has told her he must go away. Just long enough to hunt down the Outcasts – immortals who want to kill Luce. Daniel hides Luce at Shoreline, a school on the rocky California coast with unusually gifted students: Nephilim, the offspring of fallen angels and humans.

At Shoreline, Luce learns what the Shadows are, and how she can use them as windows to her previous lives. Yet the more Luce learns, the more she suspects that Daniel hasn’t told her everything. He’s hiding something – something dangerous.

What if Daniel’s version of the past isn’t actually true? What if Luce is really meant to be with someone else?

The second novel in the addictive FALLEN series…where love never dies.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Luna_Lovebooks_100Luna Lovebooks says…

What I liked: Call me whatever you want, but I kind of liked that fact that there was sort of a love square between Luce, Cam, Daniel and the new guy Miles. I was rooting for Miles. Even though bad boys with a heart of gold are sexy, I wanted the seemingly down to Earth guy to win Luce’s heart. Sadly, that would have made a very different story, since everything revolves around Daniel.

I like the idea of the Announcers. At first, like Luce, I didn’t understand them. But I came to see them as portals to different timelines. I loved the scenery. There is so much detail it feels like you are there.

badge5v4What I didn’t like: There actually wasn’t much I disliked about this book. I did wonder about Luce’s parents. How did they not know that something weird was going on? And the ending seemed a little rushed to me, leaving us with many questions still unanswered.

Overall I give this book 5 stars.

Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

Always start with the good, right? Very visual, very detailed. The shadows/Announcers took me a while to totally decode but I started to see them as portals the more you learned about them, so it was easier. I like that I can clearly picture every character, every wing, every landmark and setting. The author’s writing is always pretty good when describing the scene, even her action scenes. I could see the battle near the end and action scenes are some of the toughest to write so A+ on that.

The introduction of Miles is interesting to get a little love triangle started. Being a bit different than Daniel and having all the characteristics Daniel lacks, I can see why Luce started appreciating his presence more. Shelby reminded me of Molly instantly, so it was hard to get to like her right off the bat, especially since Luce didn’t seem to like her right away. But being I am not a very religious person, I grew to like her open-minded opinions on faith. Cam is rugged and blunt as always and he’s good in action. But I never hated Daniel for keeping his secrets. I feel like Luce would cease to understand them even if he told her.

I’m still not fond of Luce’s character. She seems like a real enough person, stumbling through the later years of teen life and yet still having that childish emotion. I just don’t like that she comes off as very irresponsibly independent and moronic. If the love of my life that I swore up and down I trusted told me that I was in danger and to stay in a specific spot so that I’d be safe (especially after having people try to kill you), I’D STAY THE HELL THERE. But no, Luce runs off MULTIPLE times and most of the time, she doesn’t even care. When Francesca and Steven tell her that they “didn’t feel the need to explicit with her” I was like, “THANK YOU.”

And the Thanksgiving scene was kind of half and half for me. I knew why everybody was there because it was coming to the end of the book and the end of the truce and I knew something bad was bound to happen. I liked the dinner conversation. I was almost hoping Miles and Daniel would get into a worse argument. Sadly, that didn’t happen. I didn’t understand if her parents were walking across the street and all these angels, demons, and Outcasts were up in the air like a cloud, how in the world did they not see it? Or hear the confrontation? They hadn’t been gone that long. Especially if there are alarms going off – that was a weird description. So that whole ending did not work for me really.

badge3v4I don’t dislike the series, I’m just finding it very hard to follow Luce’s scatterbrained emotions. “I love Daniel, I like Miles, I can’t stand Daniel, I can’t stand Cam” – it’s like a roller coaster that when you get off of, you’re kind of nauseous. But maybe her head will clear up a bit with some “relaxing” past lives. Who knows?

If you like this book…

…you might try Fallen Angel  by Heather Terrell,  Kissed by an Angel by Elizabeth Chandler,  Strange Angels by Lili St. Crow 

About Luna Lovebooks

I love books! I also write in my spare time but due to a crazy life and millions of ideas, I have yet to finish something :/

Posted on October 13, 2016, in 3-Okay, 5-Great, Female, Kat Mandu, Luna Lovebooks, Paranormal Romance, Review, Young Adult and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

