The Wizard’s Heir by Devri Walls

There’s been an explosion of high fantasy for Kat and Luna lately.  Here’s a YA high fantasy for classic fantasy fans.

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

the-wizards-heirTitleThe Wizard’s Heir
AuthorDevri Walls
Series: stand-alone
Publish Date: November 13, 2015
Genre: YA Fantasy
Source: Provided by Turning Another Page

Publisher’s DescriptionTybolt’s a Deviant, a hated race immune to direct magic in a world where Wizards ensure survival. But when he loses his entire family to a spell-made storm he joins an elite group of Wizard hunters, organized beneath the new non-magic wielding king.

Now eighteen, he spends his days capturing Wizards. But the nights are his, reserved to feed the starving villagers of Eriroc under cover of dark. There’s always more people in need than he can help, and one of these days he’s going to hang for theft from the royal kitchens.

Although Tybolt and his fierce partner, Auriela, have imprisoned many Wizards, the one partially responsible for the storm that killed Tybolt’s family is still out there: Alistair. When an old informant claims to have information regarding their elusive prey, everything changes.

In a cruel twist, Tybolt realizes he isn’t who he thought he was at all. How can he save himself, the people, and those he loves while keeping his secrets safe? Can he hide his true nature and allow the corrupt king to remain on the throne?

Or will he have to unveil himself and risk possible execution to save them all?

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

In this magically-imbued YA high fantasy, a young hunter of evil wizards discovers his true heritage – and that he’s got to save his almighty wizard father from an even bigger threat.

What I liked: The characters are a lively bunch of quirky traits, from Tybolt’s naturally good and giving demeanor, to Auriella’s dark secrets, to Rowan’s true nature and reasoning behind all his madness. There’s a lot of action and adventure, plus I love the world-building. I tend to lean towards magical worlds where there’s a certain group of people that are hated. In this case, it’s the wizards, though they are wrongfully hated and blamed for terrible crimes they did not commit.

badge3v4What I didn’t like: Although it was nicely paced and entertaining, it had a very cliche plot. Basically the whole “Luke, I am your father” spiel came to play out in this in a big way, only with wizards instead of Star Wars related characters. I’m a big fan of unique ideas, especially with plots that are unpredictable. But two chapters in, I already had an idea of what was going to happen. I could guess the outcome of every scenario to the point where I had everything accurate.

All in all though, I enjoyed it, so it gets a three from me.

Luna_Lovebooks_100Luna Lovebooks says…

Likes: I have to confess that I was fan-girling over Tybolt by chapter 4. This is mostly due to the fact that he is a small beacon of hope for the starving common people of Eriroc. He brings them food and is even slightly sympathetic to the wizards he captures – sometimes overly so.

My second favorite is Aurelia, Tybolt’s love interest. I like her because she is a perfect example of the type of person to come from this broken world. I loved how Aurelia and Tybolt’s relationship blended with how she opens up in the story. While this story isn’t an entirely original one (the hero must overthrow the evil tyrant type), it is a fun and adventurous read.

Dislikes: There are parts of the story that are predictable. The biggest twist in the story is easily figured out in chapter one. The second twist is also easy to spot. The characters seem too cheery at times. There is no “oh crap there is no hope moment”. There is also a significant lack of fantasy creatures. I may be a little biased here but while wizards are fantastical beings, I want some dragons or fairies or some new creature.

badge3v4Rating: It has loads of potential but I believe Walls has the elements, she just doesn’t execute them well. For this reason, I am giving it 3 stars.

If you like this book…

…you might try Nevernight by Jay Kristoff, A Promise of Fire by Amanda Bouchet, The Blood of the Earth by Faith Hunter.

FTC Notice: This book was provided free in exchange for an honest review. This is no way impacts my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on October 19, 2016, in 3-Okay, High Fantasy, Kat Mandu, Luna Lovebooks, Review, Young Adult and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

