Passion by Lauren Kate

“Every single lifetime, I’ll choose you. Just as you have chosen me. Forever.” —Passion, Lauren Kate

PassionTitle:  Passion
Author:  Lauren Kate
SeriesFallen Book 03
Publish Date:  June 14, 2011
Genre:  YA Fantasy
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionLuce would die for Daniel.

And she has. Over and over again. Throughout time, Luce and Daniel have found each other, only to be painfully torn apart: Luce dead, Daniel left broken and alone. But perhaps it doesn’t need to be that way….

Luce is certain that something – or someone – in a past life can help her in her present one. So she begins the most important journey of this lifetime…going back eternities to witness firsthand her romances with Daniel…and finally unlock the key to making their love last.

Cam and the legions of angels and Outcasts are desperate to catch Luce, but none are as frantic as Daniel. He chases Luce through their shared pasts, terrified of what might happen if she rewrites history. Because their romance for the ages could go up in flames…forever.

Sweeping across centuries, PASSION is the third novel in the unforgettably epic FALLEN series.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Luna_Lovebooks_100Luna Lovebooks says…

What I liked: I really liked that this cover had a bit more color. It drew my eye right away. What I really loved was the idea of past lives being explored. This is a subject that has always been interesting to me, so I loved seeing Luce and the gang throughout time. I also appreciated learning more about everyone’s history.

badge4v4What I didn’t like: I did not like the fact that Luce trusted Bill right away. I knew from the very beginning that he was the bad guy and it frustrated me to no end that Luce couldn’t see it. This one was a bit more predictable than the previous two.

Overall I give this book 4 stars.

Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

I’ve always been fascinated by the idea of past lives spread throughout history, so this is the first book in this series that really caught my attention. I liked the different time periods and all the different experiences, names, and personalities Luce and Daniel have. I especially liked the gruesomeness of Italy during the war, the spoiled-life in Helston, and the tattoo-decorating on the island. Overall, every scene with Luce where she has seen her life in a new way was pretty cool to me.

Luce didn’t get on my nerves like she did in the second one – she had her moments sure, like when Bill is first introduced. I don’t understand how she just instantly trusted him as if he didn’t meet him in an Announcer of all places and didn’t question his agenda until later on. Luce is just not very smart to me.

I did like that you heard from Daniel’s point of view. He has a much more focused way of telling his side of the story that I appreciate, plus I’m fascinated by dual-narratives. And the never-ending romance is very nice.

I especially liked hearing how Cam chose his side, as well as Roland and Arriane. Some of these stories, like the ones you find in the Fallen anthology, Fallen In Love, are nice takes on each character’s histories.

I like that when they are questioned before the Fall, they are left in a state of confusion and concern as they struggle to realize where they stand. I like that Cam and the others were originally all brothers/sisters and then as they were forced to stay on earth and live like mortals, they eventually all chose sides.

badge4v4The only thing I took the star off for was predictability. I liked to be surprised when I read a book. I could tell Bill wasn’t what/who he seemed, knew that Lucifer would try to convince Luce to give herself up somehow so that he could sway Daniel to his side. I knew that Luce would eventually get over herself and figure out how much Daniel cared for her – as he has for eternity.

So, four stars.

If you like this book…

…you might try Personal Demons by Lisa Desrochers, Mercy by Rebecca Lim, and Fallen in Love by Lauren Kate.

About Luna Lovebooks

I love books! I also write in my spare time but due to a crazy life and millions of ideas, I have yet to finish something :/

Posted on October 20, 2016, in 4-Good, Kat Mandu, Luna Lovebooks, Paranormal Romance, Review, Young Adult and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

