Fallen in Love by Lauren Kate

Luna and Kat continue their review of the YA series, Fallen, by Lauren Kate. Today’s book is a collection of short stories in the same universe.

Fallen In LoveTitle:  Fallen In Love
Author:  Lauren Kate
SeriesFallen Book 03.5
Publish Date:  January 12, 2012
Genre:  YA Paranormal Romance
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionUnexpected. Unrequited. Forbidden. Eternal. Everyone has their own love story.

And in a twist of fate, four extraordinary love stories intersect over the course of a romantic Valentine’s Day in medieval England. Miles and Shelby find love where they least expect it. Roland learns a painful lesson about finding and losing love. Arianne pays the price for a love so fierce it burns. And for the first – and last – time, Daniel and Luce will spend a night together like none other.

Lauren Kate’s FALLEN IN LOVE is filled with love stories…the ones everyone has been waiting for.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Luna_Lovebooks_100Luna Lovebooks says…

Likes: I liked the short quick paced stories. My favorite of course was Luce and Daniel’s. I liked that they got to dance without her death. I love the fact that Arriane’s true love is a woman angel/demon. It was a surprising twist. The background information on the angels/demons was nice as it gives us more insight into their characters.

badge3v4Dislikes: The only element I didn’t care for at all was Shelby and Miles’s story. To me it seemed like Kate was trying to write her way out of a love triangle – although there are still hints of one with Cam and Daniel.

I give this three stars overall.

Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

I really wish there was a 3.5 because it took me a while to come up with how I really felt about this one. I enjoyed it. Nice, easy reading. It’s literally all kinds of stories strung together through history. A few cliches here and there but nothing that screamed “boring.”

Of course my favorite was the story between Luce and Daniel. It’s a very visual story and that’s what I think I enjoy most about the whole series, is all of the descriptions and details. The peonies were a nice touch and so was the dancing with the crowd. Her anticipation was nice too. This entire time Luce is seeing all these versions of Daniel and yet wanting to be with him and not being able to and being able to at the same time, so it gets nice when it gets to the point and they can be with each other (without her dying).

My least favorite was the one between Shelby and Miles. I just didn’t have good vibes on it. It seemed too…blah. Like there were sparks but it was predictable, so you knew what all would happen and it just didn’t keep my interest like the other two did.

I must admit I was surprised to read that Arriane was in love with a female angel/demon. With as much religion that is included in the series, it took me a minute to realize Tess was a woman. But I’ve always thought that love is love so I really liked it. I really would have liked to know more if she’d survived though. Arriane talks about sending someone to help her but then it’s left there for the reader’s imagination. I wanted to know. So maybe she’ll show up in the finale is what I was thinking. Only she doesn’t…well, not really.

badge3v4Roland’s was nice. Not much I have to say about his. I liked it. I like that he’s the big sweetheart of all the angels although he’s technically considered to be on the “evil” side or whatever.

These are some interesting novellas if you’re into romancey shorts with a small brush of angels and demons.

About Luna Lovebooks

I love books! I also write in my spare time but due to a crazy life and millions of ideas, I have yet to finish something :/

Posted on October 27, 2016, in 3-Okay, Both Genders, Kat Mandu, Luna Lovebooks, Paranormal Romance, Review, Young Adult and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

