Rules of Survival by Jus Accardo

*** spoiler alert ** I know we always warn for spoilers but I want to reiterate that on here because I spoil A LOT. You have been warned! 😀

Rules of SurvivalTitle:  Rules of Survival
Author:  Jus Accardo
Series: stand-alone
Publish Date:  June 2, 2014
Genre:  NA Romantic Suspense
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionIf you want to survive, you have to follow the rules…

Mikayla Morgan is wanted for her mother’s murder. She’s been on the run for almost a year now, avoiding not only the police but the real killer. Tired of running and desperate to clear her name, she breaks one of the most sacred rules: never return to the scene of the crime.

Every bounty hunter on the Eastern Seaboard is after the Morgan girl—but Shaun Denver and his partner snagged her. She’s a piece of work, and Shaun can’t decide if he wants to kiss her or kill her. When things take a sharp turn south, Shaun does the only thing he can think of to keep her close—he handcuffs them together.

As the danger mounts and the killer closes in, the chemistry between them threatens to explode. Shaun and Kayla will need to break all the rules if they hope to get out of this alive.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

I’m so…fifty-fifty on this book.

Cliched. Extremely. Bad boy meets bad girl and they start out hating each other but end up liking each other. Handcuffed to each other, dealing with bad situations that seem alarmingly dangerous but then end up being okay out of luck. I really feel it was luck because as “smart” as the characters seemed to think they were, they weren’t necessarily.

For example, “Kayla” has trust issues. Trust no one, got it. But the further along the story you get, the less this becomes a rule. I understand that slowly she begins to trust Shaun but dear god, where’s the intelligence when she goes to Mick’s house and instantly says, “yes, please give me food and drink even though I don’t know you.” How smart is that, really? Where are those trust vibes at that point? I mean, desperation is a key role in stuff like that. But if I was on the run for my life, I wouldn’t just go up to some strange guy’s house, enter, and then accept his food without question.

Waaaay too predictable. Way too easy to see that Patrick was really her father, that Shaun had the keys the whole time, that everybody she wanted to trust ended up being the bad guy – except in Shaun’s case.

I will say that she has the romantic suspense going with her. Romance authors love to tease and this book is no exception. Lots of giddy kissing scenes and build up…

Only to fall short for the actual sex scene itself. Maybe it’s because I’m a fan of the nitty-gritty details, but one page of romance is not enough for me. The scene with her and Shaun in the mobile home/RV thing was sexier than the actual sex scene. I was very disappointed and I was hoping that despite all the predictability and cliches, the sex scene might make up for it and give it a four-star rating. Sadly not.

I did like the writing style. Very simple and easy to understand, not to mention easy to visualize. I like her descriptions of things and the inner dialogue. Kayla was a character you could sympathize with and Shaun was good to equal her personality.

badge3v4But anyway, I gave this a three because I thought two was too low. There’s nothing really wrong with this book and I’m betting from all the good reviews I’ve seen, other people love it. It just wasn’t something for me. I did like the book but not one of my favorites.

If you like this book…

If you’re a fan of thriller/romancey NA’s, I’d recommend authors like Cora Cormack, Christina Lauren, and Sarah Harian.

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on November 11, 2016, in 3-Okay, Kat Mandu, Review, Romance, Thriller/Suspense and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

