As They Rise by J.M. Wilde

Like in most zombie scenarios, the character of this book finds herself in a struggle for survival. The short-story is filled with gruesome deaths, high stakes, and plenty of action.

as-they-riseTitleAs They Rise
AuthorJ.M. Wilde
SeriesThe Eva Series, Book 01
Publish Date: June 21, 2015
Genre: Apocalyptic
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionA kick-ass teenage girl, a nation swarming with zombies, and a sweet romance that grows amongst the ruins. You’ll find all that and more in this exciting and action-packed, post-apocalyptic young adult novella.

Readers have said it’s had them on the edge of their seats, reading all through the night and still craving more.

Eva was just an everyday girl, working as a waitress, hanging out with her friends, and falling in love. But her world changed overnight when a powerful virus spread throughout the country, transforming it into a wasteland of deadly disease and crazed zombies. With Australia cut off from the rest of the world and rampant with terror and chaos, Eva and her friends must do whatever they can to survive.

Set in Australia, horror, friendship and true love collide to make this tale of survival stand out from the rest.

The Eva Series will make you smile, scream, cry and fist-pump the air as you go on a wild and dangerous ride with Eva and her friends. And it all starts here, as they rise.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

I struggled to come up with a rating for this short story. I was able to read it in one sitting and it was something nice to pick up during the week of Halloween.

However, I wasn’t that impressed with the actual story. I felt like it was just a combination of every zombie movie/book already out there. I also had a hard time with all the clichés. Anyone who knows what I like knows I don’t like clichéd fiction and this just hit that particular mark with me. I want a fresh take on zombies. Something more original than the standard “we have to get out of here, the dead are coming” thing.

The characters were real enough – until it came time to face the zombie horde and then suddenly the lead character becomes a freaking ninja, able to come away unscathed each encounter and managing to kill off a lot of zombies using makeshift weapons. I didn’t really get why she happened to be so skilled within that short amount of time, having grown up “normally” and having no idea how to use a blade. It just seemed very unreal despite the rest of the book where the situations were more realistic.

badge2v4The writing itself isn’t bad, descriptive enough to figure out what’s going on and follow it clearly. I’m not quite sure why there was romance involved unless it was to make sure the story didn’t completely fall into the category of horror. But I felt like all the lovey-dovey thoughts the lead character and her love interest were having were inappropriate for the situation, as most of the time she was having those thoughts in the middle of a battle. I get the “gotta do it now before we die” but this just seemed a little too over the top.

I wished I would have enjoyed this more. I’m sure someone else will, it just wasn’t for me.

If you like this book…

…you might try these other zombie reads – Allison Hewett Is Trapped by Madeline Roux, Rise Again by Ben Tripp, or The First Days by Rhiannon Frater.

About Invested Ivana

I read fiction for entertainment and to escape my own world; so, I don’t want to read about “real” things. I read non-fiction to learn and be inspired. For the last several years, I’ve read mostly Urban Fantasy and other things supernatural. I also enjoy Historical Fiction. I love books that go deep into characters and worlds. I really want to know the characters, to be able to invest emotionally in them and their challenges. I like learning about cultures, so understanding the world is important to me as well.

Posted on November 16, 2016, in 2-Meh, Dystopian/Post-Apocalyptic, Female, Kat Mandu, Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Nervous Nell Justice

    The cover is pretty cool – gory cool.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

