Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst

I received an ARC of this book book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

of-fire-and-starsTitleOf Fire and Stars
AuthorAudrey Coulthurst
Series: stand alone
Publish Date: November 22, 2016, Baltzer + Bray
Genre: YA High Fantasy
Source: Provided by the publisher

Publisher’s DescriptionBetrothed since childhood to the prince of Mynaria, Princess Dennaleia has always known what her future holds. Her marriage will seal the alliance between Mynaria and her homeland, protecting her people from other hostile lands. But Denna has a secret. She possesses an Affinity for fire—a dangerous gift for the future queen of a kingdom where magic is forbidden.

Now, Denna must learn the ways of her new home while trying to hide her growing magic. To make matters worse, she must learn to ride Mynaria’s formidable warhorses before her coronation—and her teacher is the person who intimidates her most, the prickly and unconventional Princess Amaranthine (called Mare), sister of her betrothed.

When a shocking assassination leaves the kingdom reeling, Mare and Denna reluctantly join forces to search for the culprit. As the two work together, each discovers there’s more to the other than she thought. Mare is surprised by Denna’s intelligence and bravery, while Denna is drawn to Mare’s independent streak. Soon their friendship is threatening to blossom into something more.

But with dangerous conflict brewing that makes the alliance more important than ever, acting on their feelings could be deadly. Forced to choose between their duty and their hearts, Mare and Denna must find a way to save their kingdoms—and each other.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Luna_Lovebooks_100Luna Lovebooks says…

Likes: I had a hard time writing up a review for this book because while it is not perfect, it is also perfect at the same time. I’m going to start with the cover here. Can we say gorgeous? I love it! The book is well written and the characters are beautiful. By far the best part of this book isn’t the fantasy, but the romance. I love the slow build of Mare and Denna’s relationship. This slow build up was integrated into the story nicely.

Dislikes: I didn’t quite get the politics and the religion system and how magic mixed in. I felt like I was missing a key ingredient. The adults are not very logical. They don’t really investigate the assignation attempts on the king and directly jump into going to war with an entire country based on very little proof. The names are . . . interesting. Some I had no idea how to even begin to pronounce like Thandilimon and Amaranthine, although I did like the name Dennaleia. To be honest, I went by their nicknames while reading. I also felt that things were wrapped up a little too quickly and nicely.

badge5v4Even though there were some issues, this book is beautiful and will leave you with a smile on your face. For this reason I give this book 5 cachets.

Other Recommendations…

As I Descended by Robin Talley, A Darkly Beating Heart by Lindsay Smith, When the Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore.

I received an ARC of this book book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

About Luna Lovebooks

I love books! I also write in my spare time but due to a crazy life and millions of ideas, I have yet to finish something :/

Posted on December 12, 2016, in 5-Great, High Fantasy, Luna Lovebooks, Review, Young Adult and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

