Serenity by Craig A. Hart

Shelby Alexander is feeling his age. His adult daughter treats him like a frail old man and it takes him a lot longer to recover from a hangover. But, with a lover half his age and taste for dangerous adventure, he’s not going to let his advanced years slow him down. Much.

I received an ARC of this book book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

serenityTitleSerenity
AuthorCraig A. Hart
Series: A Shelby Alexander Thriller, Book 01
Publish Date: October 14, 2016
Genre: Thriller
Cover: Craig A. Hart
Source: Provided by the author

Publisher’s Description: Shelby Alexander is an aging ex-boxer and retired fixer, whose activities often flirted with the wrong side of the law. Looking for a little peace and a slower pace of life, he moved to Serenity, the small Michigan town where he grew up. But trouble follows men like Shelby, and he finds himself embroiled in an underworld of drugs and violence that may prove to be his undoing. The first book in the new Shelby Alexander Thriller Series, Serenity is an action-packed read with a lovingly rendered cast, witty dialogue, and a main character who doesn’t know when to quit.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Invested_Ivana_100Invested Ivana says…

Now that I’m slightly (just slightly!!) closer to sixty than twenty, I’m finding it a tad more difficult to find protagonists who are close to my age, especially in the genres I like to read—barring all the ancient immortals, of course. I was intrigued by the description of this thriller, with a protagonist described as “aging” and “retired.”

The main plot of this book centers around the meth industry in the small town of Serenity. Shelby is asked to investigate the death of a girl by her brother, who just happens to run the family meth business. What he finds during the course of that investigation is the center of the book.

But I found some of the other parts of the story even more interesting. Shelby has always been a physical guy, being an ex-boxer and a “fixer.” He’s not yet old enough to have lost all of his physical abilities, but he can tell he’s past his prime. His adult daughter, from whom he was formerly estranged, is acting as though he is sick and frail, which just reminds him of his advancing years. His relationship with his lover, who is his daughter’s age, makes him feel both young and old at the same time. And the old friend who comes to town to help him get into and out of mischief does the same.

badge4v4Shelby is on the threshold of a new stage in life, and not the one that many of us aspire to. That time of transition is difficult at best. I found the exploration of it in this novel particularly interesting. The market is flooded with “coming of age” stories right now, but rarely in genre fiction do I see stories that address the later stages in life.

I received an ARC of this book book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

About Invested Ivana

I read fiction for entertainment and to escape my own world; so, I don’t want to read about “real” things. I read non-fiction to learn and be inspired. For the last several years, I’ve read mostly Urban Fantasy and other things supernatural. I also enjoy Historical Fiction. I love books that go deep into characters and worlds. I really want to know the characters, to be able to invest emotionally in them and their challenges. I like learning about cultures, so understanding the world is important to me as well.

Posted on December 14, 2016, in 4-Good, Contemporary Fiction, Invested Ivana, Male, Review, Thriller/Suspense and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

