The Story of Lucius Cane, Book One by Vanya Ferreira

In this quick read, we meet ancient vampire Lucius Cane and his opponent, a brutish werewolf named Jack the Hound. Jack the Hound has paid to kill Lucius and an epic showdown waits between them.

I received an ARC of this book book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

lucius-craneTitleThe Story of Lucius Cane, Book One
Author: Vanya Ferreira
Series: stand alone (so far)
Publish Date: February 9, 2016
Genre: Dark fantasy
Source: From where you got the book

Publisher’s Description: London, 1794. Lucius Cane, a peculiar sort of vampire, comes upon an opponent the likes of which he has never seen before – a brute with remarkable abilities. But not all is as it seems as their encounter unfolds in a manner that neither of them expected.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

I would have liked to see more character descriptions, both physical and mental. Jack the Hound has a lot of background information (he’s a drunk with an abusive father who got transformed as a young kid) but Lucius didn’t get much. In fact, there’s a voice inside his head that I wish I would have known more about.

badge4v4I really enjoyed the fight scene between both characters and the unexpected twist near the end. It was really well written and I would very much love to read the next one.

I received an ARC of this book book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

About Invested Ivana

I read fiction for entertainment and to escape my own world; so, I don’t want to read about “real” things. I read non-fiction to learn and be inspired. For the last several years, I’ve read mostly Urban Fantasy and other things supernatural. I also enjoy Historical Fiction. I love books that go deep into characters and worlds. I really want to know the characters, to be able to invest emotionally in them and their challenges. I like learning about cultures, so understanding the world is important to me as well.

Posted on December 17, 2016, in 4-Good, Historical Fantasy/Gaslamp, Kat Mandu, Male, Review, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

