Review of All Harry Potter Companion Books by J.K. Rowling

Welcome to Saturday Shorts, where we review short stories, novellas, and middle-grade book. Today we are wrapping up both the year and our Harry Potter read-along with a review of all the short Harry Potter books written by Rowling.


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

Fantastic Beasts & Where To Find Them: 5 stars

fantastic-beastsI can’t help but giggle every time I read this, especially that intro page. “Write in your own book, Hermione,” Ron says as if he’s not doing the same exact thing while using Harry’s books.

Besides the humorous comments tossed here and there, plus the comical drawings, this is wonderful all on its own.

I really adore JK Rowling’s imagination as she comes up with unique creatures based on myths and her own brilliant mind. Read this book before you go see the movie, I’m betting it’ll help you identify some of the creatures Newt Scamander comes into contact with.

quiddich-through-the-agesQuidditch Through The Ages: 3 stars

Though this is a lovely addition to the Hogwarts library trio and full of good information on Quidditch, I find I’m more of Hermione’s mind on this book. It just didn’t interest me like the others did.

That doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it and you won’t either. The history behind how the sport was created is fabulous and it’s nice to see how it has changed throughout time. JK Rowling never ceases to amaze me on what she creates.

The Tales of Beedle the Bard: 5 stars

tales-of-beedle-the-bardWe all know JK Rowling is an excellent storyteller – all seven original Harry Potter books are filled with fascinating creatures, remarkable world-building, characters we learn to both treasure and loathe, and pure, enjoyable magic at its finest. Now she provides us with a short book full of wizarding-world fairy tales that are all extraordinary in their own rights.

I loved the childlike feel of each of these stories, especially as a lot of them feature princesses and kings, reminiscent of our own fairy tales. My personal favorite is Babbity Rabbity because it not only teaches a moral but it makes for great fun. I feel like I’d tell these to my own children later. I also love the Three Brothers because it was the one mentioned in the last book and therefore, connected with me the most because of the references.

I did enjoy the commentary by Dumbledore, as it offered unique insights into how he felt and brought up some things fans would recognize (like the name Brutus Malfoy). However, I enjoyed the stories themselves a lot more.

Regardless, it is clear that JK Rowling is an absolute genius and we could all learn something from her and her tales.

pottermore-presents-1Pottermore Presents: Stories from Hogwarts of Heroism, Hardship, and Dangerous Hobbies – 5 stars

I enjoyed this set of background information a lot more than the other two because it divulged things I didn’t already know.

Hearing about the short histories behind Lupin, McGonagall, Trelawney, and even Kettleburn is fascinating. Who knew that the transfiguration teacher had a history of heartbreak? Or that poor Kettleburn retired from Hogwarts with only a couple limbs? When I first read Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, especially the scene where Hagrid is introduced as the new Care of Magical Creatures teacher, I was under the impression that when Dumbledore said, “he wishes to spend time with his remaining limbs” he actually meant his family. I don’t know why I assumed that but I did. Now I get it.

Anyway, this is a short, entertaining read with some sadness mixed in. But still good of course!

pottermore-presents-2Pottermore Presents: Short Stories from Hogwarts of Power, Politics, and Pesky Poltergeists – 4 stars

Lots of fun facts regarding the Ministry in this set of background information. I’m wondering if it has anything to do with the Fantastic Beasts and Where to find them film (which by the way, I can’t wait to see).

I wish there would have been more info on the pre-life of Peeves. He’s such a funny character who causes lots of trouble for Harry and well, everyone really.

This is enjoyable, just like the other two.

Pottermore Presents: Hogwarts – An Incomplete & Unreliable Guide – 3 stars

pottermore-presents-3This is a nice collection of information on the secrets of Hogwarts castle. I found I liked the simple details that Rowling includes, however, I wish there would have been more information on things I didn’t already know. It frequently becomes repetitive, especially to those who have read Harry Potter so much and know the lore about a lot of Hogwarts stuff. But I did like the author explaining her thoughts on certain things (like the lake with its merpeople, and the original plot line within the Chamber of Secrets book) while she was actually writing the book. I think that’s my favorite part about this, when she divulges her first initial thought processes.

Our reviews in this series…

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on December 31, 2016, in 3-Okay, 4-Good, 5-Great, Both Genders, Contemporary Fantasy, Kat Mandu, Review, Saturday Shorts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Will the last three books be published as well? Or do you need a Pottermore account to read them?

    Like

  2. The last three Pottermore books in the review are actually already available for purchase. I found mine on Amazon but I’m certain they are also available for Nooks and other e-readers. You won’t need a Pottermore account to get them.

    Hope that helps 😊

    Like

  1. Pingback: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, et. al. | One Book Two

  2. Pingback: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling | One Book Two

  3. Pingback: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling | One Book Two

  4. Pingback: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix | One Book Two

  5. Pingback: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling | One Book Two

  6. Pingback: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling | One Book Two

  7. Pingback: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling | One Book Two

  8. Pingback: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling | One Book Two

Leave a Reply

