Forever Wilde by Jenn Stark

Immortal Vegas has quickly become one of Ivana and Nell’s favorite urban fantasy series. It has it all—magic, mystery, intrigue, romance, drama, and awesome characters. I really don’t know how you could ask for more.

I received an ARC or review copy of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

forever-wildeTitleForever Wilde
AuthorJenn Stark
SeriesImmortal Vegas, Book 06
Publish Date: December 27, 2016
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Cover: Gene Mollica
Source: Provided by the author

Publisher’s DescriptionLife has never been smoother for Tarot-reading artifact hunter Sara Wilde. With a worldwide criminal organization at her beck and call, she can finally secure the safety of the youngest and most vulnerable members of the psychic community. Sure, she’s been banged up a little, and the Magician’s most recent attempts to heal her turned her temporarily immortal. But otherwise…things are coming up roses.

Then Sara discovers an enclave of psychic children whose DNA has been dangerously altered, making them the hottest targets on the planet for traffickers. A new strain of technoceutical drugs is flooding the arcane black market, and powerful Connecteds, the Arcana Council, and even Interpol are intent on discovering its source. To protect the children and her House, Sara joins the hunt. What she discovers, however, causes her to question everything she knows about the war on magic and her own deeply-buried motivations.

Still reeling from those revelations, Sara reluctantly partners with the Magician to find and retrieve the most elusive member of the Council, the Hanged Man. Working together far too closely for comfort, Sara learns a series of startling truths about the mercurial, exasperating, and manipulative Magician–including one secret that could finally give her the answers she most craves…if it doesn’t destroy her first.

The hits just keep on coming when you’re Forever Wilde.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Invested_Ivana_100

Invested Ivana says…

So, my review is about a week late, but for good reason.  Forever Wilde is the sixth Immortal Vegas book, and even though they’ve all come out within a year and a half of each other, I still wanted to reread the series. So, I read all six and a half books for this review and loved every minute of it. 😉 Immortal Vegas is so much fun!

Sara continues her crusade to protect the Connected children of the world. Now she’s on the hunt for the manufacturers of “technoceuticals,” drugs that use a combination of technology and magic to enhance a person’s psychic gifts, possibly by altering their DNA. Unfortunately, it seems that the creators of the drugs may have had some help from a member of the Council, The Hanged Man, who has been absent from the Council for years.

badge5v5I’m not going to lie — at the end of Aces Wilde, I thought maybe Nikki would end up being the Hanged Man. If you read an interpretation of the Hanged Man card, it talks about upending the old order, doing an about-face, living in the moment, accepting what is, looking at something from a new perspective—all things that could relate to Nikki’s experience as a transgender female and her current personality, both. Though the Hanged Man turned out to be someone different, the reveal certainly WASN’T disappointing. In fact, I can’t wait to see where this series goes next.

Nervous Nellie says…Nervous_Nellie_100

Holy crap on a cracker.  Or maybe I should say something like Nikki would say regarding biblical people on bicycles. Seriously.  This series keeps getting better.  Ivana speaks of upending the old order and I have to tell you that this story totally upended me.

I hadn’t talked to Ivana much about this series, so I’m relieved that it wasn’t only me that suspected Nikki was the Hanged Man.  I could practically taste the victory behind my guess.  I was wrong.  Wow, though, the idea of who actually is the Hanged Man? Brilliant.  The story that Author Stark brought me had me totally at her mercy.

I know you are waiting for me to spill about Armaeus and Sara’s relationship.  Firstly, don’t think anything is resolved  their relationship. Nope. Not at all. Her position in relation to the Council? Huh-uh. What good is the book if nothing is revealed, you ask? Well, I’ve learned quite a little about our arrogant and emotionally vacant Armaeus. Some pretty interesting stuff too.  You will have to read the book for yourself for that info.  I learned who the Hanged Man is and what that’s all about.  I learned about more problems Sara has to work through regarding well…pretty much everything.  Connected children, check.  House of Swords business, check. Possible knowledge about her parentage? Check. Brody & Dixie? check and check. Yep, Sara has got a lot on her plate besides Armaeus and the Council, that is for sure.  I will say no more.

badge5v5If you haven’t read this series, please pick it up.  The writing is amazing and the stories are absolutely enthralling.  The author does her homework and the story flows along so well that I never give a second thought about the wheres and wherefores to any of it.  Author Stark weaves a tale that I can see very clearly in my head.  The characters are multi dimensional and singular. They have distinct personalities and agendas. The imagery that is painted with words shows me so much about the scenes that I don’t even notice I’m reading.  I just see the pictures. The story is complete and very well thought out.  Jenn Stark makes writing look easy – that’s how good she is.

Our reviews in this series…

Other recommendations…

It’s hard to decide which awesome urban fantasies to recommend, as there are so many excellent ones. I’d suggest checking out Ivana’s list of favorite UF series on her About page.

I received an ARC or review copy of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

Save

Save

Save

About Invested Ivana

I'm currently a freelance line editor, a book blogger at One Book Two, and lifetime reader. I like geeky things. All opinions expressed on this site are my own and do not reflect the opinions of Red Adept Editing or any of my clients, the other reviewers on this site, or this site as a whole.

Posted on January 3, 2017, in 5-Great, Invested Ivana, Review, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

