The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I must be one in like ten percent of the reading population who hasn’t read a John Green book. I found myself enjoying this contemporary YA a lot more than I thought I would.

the-fault-in-our-starsTitleThe Fault in Our Stars
AuthorJohn Green
Series: stand-alone
Publish Date: January 10, 2012, Dutton
Genre: YA Contemporary
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionDespite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

Since I’d watched this movie, I kind of knew what to expect and all that, but I honestly wasn’t prepared to know how different things were.

First off, I really liked Hazel better in the book than I did the movie. Her point of view is really funny despite the scary and sad situation of EVERYTHING. She’s got some really sarcastic thoughts and I like how calm she is about everything. She definitely made the four-star rating for me. I liked her. I wanted her to be my friend.

But secondly, the book did not make me cry. It is very hard to make me cry while reading a book – in fact, I rate books five stars if they succeed in doing so, even if I hate the rest of it. To be honest, the movie didn’t even tear me up. I kind of expected that I would be a blubbery mess like everyone else I know who has read this book but alas, I was not.

badge4v5However, that being said, it doesn’t mean the drama of the book didn’t feel real. And that REALNESS is what matters to me when I read something. I like to know I can relate to characters (in any genre, not just contemporary) and that these are the people that if they were real, I’d want to hang out with them. I’d probably be the odd one in the group, but I wouldn’t feel like I was.

I did like the writing and the characters. This is a really great book and as so many others have enjoyed it, I’m sure anyone who hasn’t read it will enjoy it too.

I received an ARC or review copy of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on January 11, 2017, in 4-Good, Contemporary Fiction, Female, Kat Mandu, Review, Young Adult and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great review! I read this book when it first came out, and I still haven’t seen the movie. It didn’t make me cry, either.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

