Prodigy by Marie Lu

In this action-packed sequel, June and Day are facing more enemies than ever before and learning that they don’t know as much about each other as they both assumed. Now they’ve got to come together to meet a common goal – even if that goal spells disaster for them both.

prodigyTitleProdigy
AuthorMarie Lu
SeriesLegend, Book 01
Publish Date: January 29, 2013
Genre: YA Dystopian
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s Description: Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games?

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

When I first picked up this series and began reading, I had to wonder why they were named “Legend” and “Prodigy” respectively, even though they were narrated by the two characters. But after I read Prodigy, I realized that the focus really is split.

In Legend, you learn a lot more about Day’s world and June is almost a side character as she helps him escape. Although there’s plenty of information about the Republic and June’s world, you don’t get as emerged into it as you do when it comes to Day. It’s all about catching the most wanted criminal, which June does, and therefore really sets the plot off.

But in Prodigy, the tables turn and this is June’s time to shine. She’s got to lure the new Elector into a trap – one where he’ll die – and Day’s basically helping her. It’s all about her morals, her decisions, her actions. The military prodigy who eventually returns.

In fact, I really loved June in this. More than I did Day. Yes, Day has a lot to rage over as he deals with the death of his mother and brother, the idea that he may or may not be in love with both his best friend and June, but doesn’t know why, and that he’s pretty bitter over everything that’s ever happened to him in his crummy life. But I don’t know.

I just enjoyed June’s half better. She’s got moral conundrums everywhere and that makes her very real to me. She’s tough but she’s also sensitive. And she’s not afraid to fight for what’s right, even if it means losing the support of the people she cares about.

badge5v5However, I will admit it took me a bit to get into this one. So much so that I almost mentally decided to rate it a four because I felt like it was missing something early on. But once you get to the part where the Elector’s assassination attempt starts, it picks up and I really love the action that comes with it.

All in all, I still love this series. Stay tuned for my review of the final Legend book, Champion!

Our reviews in this series…

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on January 12, 2017, in 5-Great, Dystopian/Post-Apocalyptic, Kat Mandu, Review, Young Adult and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

